[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 60°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

County votes for change at state level

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

The majority of voters in Clay County have spoke out for a change of pace.

For District 46 State Representative, 61.72 percent of Clay County voters cast their ballot for Republican Bob Heaton, giving him a 1,827-1,133 edge over incumbent Democrat Vern Tincher. District 46 includes portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.

In the race for State Representative District 43, Republican Ryan J. Cummins won Clay County by a 565-494 margin over incumbent Democrat Clyde Kersey.

However, the majority of voters for District 43 reside in Vigo County, where Kersey won by a wide margin and was declared the winner with 80 percent of the precincts reporting at 7:17 p.m., Tuesday.

Kersey has held the seat, which represents much of northeastern Vigo County and a portion of northwest Clay County, since 1996.

Republican Richard Bray was the lone incumbent of the three races to receive the most votes among Clay County voters, defeating Democrat Joseph Osborn 4,434-3,733 within the county.

Bray has held the District 37 seat since 1992, and the winner of the seat will represent residents in Clay, Johnson, Monroe, Morgan, Putnam and Owen counties.

With ballots still being counted in a number of out-of-county precincts in the races for State Senator District 37 and State Representative District 46, no official winners had been declared as of press time. Winners of each respective race will take office Jan. 1, 2009.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: