[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 57°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Polling places ran smooth during election

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

While many polling locations across the state struggled with long lines, voting in Clay County ran smoothly.

"There were some big lines early in the morning because people were anticipating a large turnout," Clay County Clerk Mary Brown said. "But the lines tapered off fairly quickly and all of the locations ran pretty steady all day."

Brown added the county had no problems at the polling locations, but did have to make a last-minute change to the polling machines prior to the election.

"The program the machines run on were set before the time change on Sunday," she said. "So we had to change the time on all of them, but other than that we didn't have any problems with voting or getting the numbers in."

In total, there were 19,641 registered voters in Clay County, 11,660 (59.37 percent) of which cast a ballot on either Election Day or by absentee ballot.

"I don't remember the number of votes being this high before," Brown told The Brazil Times Wednesday as she was verifying the votes.

The number of ballots cast was 693 more than in the 2004 General Election (10,969) and the 2000 General Election (10,377). The number of registered voters in Clay County was slightly lower than in 2004 (19,716), but the percentage of residents casting a ballot was higher than in both 2004 (55.6 percent) and 2000 (57.44).

Also, a total of 22 write-in votes were cast, 20 of which were for president. Ralph Nader received the majority of the write-in votes with seven, in what turned out to be an historic election.

With a year-and-a-half before the next major election, Brown said it will give the new Clerk of the Circuit Court Vickie Wheeler time to adjust to the job.

"The next election will be the May 4, 2010 Primary Election," Brown said. "It will be nice for the new clerk to have more than a year without having to worry about an election."

To view the precinct-by-precinct results from Tuesday's General Election, visit www.thebraziltimes.com/story/1475400.htm....

Write-in votes

In Tuesday's General Election, a total of 22 write-in votes were cast. Two were for Superintendent of Public Instruction, while the other 20 were for President of the United States. Some of the names written in included:

* Ralph Nader -- seven votes,

* Chuck Baldwin -- one vote,

* Bill Cosby -- one vote,

* Hillary Clinton -- one vote,

* Ron Paul -- two votes,

* Mike Huckabee -- two votes, and

* God -- one vote.

Nader and Baldwin were the only certified write-in votes as they were the lone candidates who signed up with the Secretary of State's office in time to be counted in the election.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: