[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 50°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 50°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Brazil Rotary hands out awards at annual banquet

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

The Brazil Rotary Club recently announced its 2008 Paul Harris Fellow award recipient during its annual awards banquet.

Mike Petersen, who served as club president during 2007-08, was selected for the award from past recipients in the Brazil Club.

Jim Middledorf, last year's Paul Harris winner, presented the award to Petersen.

Middledorf gave a lighthearted talk and also discussed the ways Petersen has contributed to the organization.

Petersen was also presented with a commemorative postage stamp with first issue postage and images of the four founders of Rotary International. He has the distinction of having been member of Rotary clubs in the hometowns of two of the founders of Rotary.

The Brazil Rotary can claim its ties to the founding of the international organization through Silvester Schiele, first president of Rotary in 1850, who also lived in Clay County.

Paul Harris was born in Racine, Wis., which is both Petersen's hometown and where he joined Rotary in 1976.

Also named were recipients of the past-president awards, which were presented by Petersen.

Maryann Reed received the 2008 Rotarian of the Year award for her dedication to the fish fry fundraising event that culminates in thousands of dollars for the Northview and Clay City High School marching bands.

Rich McDonald II was named as Rookie Rotarian of the Year.

Members were also recognized as being in the $300 club for selling the most advance sale raffle tickets, including Virgil Butts, Sam Crawn, Frank Farmer, Sam Glover, Stanley Hunt and Amos Thomas.

Twenty-two members were also recognized for having consecutive years of perfect attendance, including Virgil Butts, Rob Dispennett, Dr. Miranda Goodale and Rich McDonald (on year), Mark Adamson, Mary Jo Alumbaugh, Jim Middledorf, Bill Morthland and Chris Rodgers (two years), John Earlywine, Lynsey Lunsford and Mike Petersen (three years), Dr. Alicia Reed-Thomas and Susan Thomas (four years), John Lee (five years), Sam Glover and Sam Crawn (seven years), Maryann Reed (eight years), Frank Farmer (20 years), Jim Deal (25 years), Amos Thomas (50 years), and John Thomas (59 years).

In recognition of their milestone years of 20 and 25, respectively, Farmer and Deal were also presented with crystal vases etched with the Rotary motto.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: