[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 50°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 50°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Dubois County individual wins inaugural state conservation award for Soil & Water supervisors

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Region supervisor of the year representatives pose with (from the left): Dave Russell, Brownfield Ag News, Jim Droege, IASWCD president, Robert E. Mundy, Lawrence County, Harold Routson, Wayne County, Marshall Nuckolls, Clay County, Alan Weyer, Dubois County, Paula Baldwin, Marion County, Bobby Hettmansperger, Wabash County, Richard Yoder, LaGrange County, and Donald Purkhiser, White County.
INDIANAPOLIS -- Alan Weyer, Dubois County, South-Southwest Region, is the inaugural recipient of the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation District's (IASWCD) Supervisor of the Year Award. He was named last night at the Conservation Awards Banquet, part of the 66th Annual Conference of SWCDs The Power of Conservation: Building a Sustainable Future.

Eight individuals from around the state who stand out for their dedication to their local soil and water conservation community were nominated for this new award. It was developed to recognize outstanding and exemplary supervisor achievements and leadership as these individuals serve on local Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) boards at the county level.

These men and women volunteer their time to develop and guide programs and initiatives that protect and enhance Indiana's soil and water resources. The award is sponsored by the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) and the Brownfield Ag Network.

Each county has a SWCD with a board of supervisors comprised of five members. Any current District supervisor serving on an Indiana SWCD board was eligible to be nominated by an individual, organization, agency or conservation partner. Eight regional representatives were selected based on the IASWCD's regions.

Weyer has served as a supervisor for the Dubois County SWCD since 2001, and is finishing his third term. He was elected chair in 2007 by his fellow supervisors. Judi Brown, staff member of the Dubois County SWCD says on Weyer's nomination form that "Alan became a supervisor at the end of a long, stagnant period for the SWCD.

"He quickly decided this was not the type of organization he wanted to be involved with. Rather than quitting, he slowly began to encourage the board. Although he wasn't chair, he kept the SWCD meetings focused and on track.

"Alan is very hands on, and is always an active participant in planning and participating in SWCD projects and programs. He is a frequent attendee of County Commissioners and Council meetings, and a solid advocate for the SWCD. He has raised the stature of the SWCD in the eyes of the county officials."

Weyer is a grain and beef farmer in Dubois County, and is very involved in his community of Ferdinand. He is a member of St. Ferdinand Catholic Church, and is a long time insurance agent for Ferdinand Farmers Insurance. He is President of the Ferdinand Farmers Mutual Insurance Company in February of 2008, and a member of the board of directors for the Mutual Insurance Company Association of Indiana. Weyer also is active in the local FFA Chapter, and also serves on the Dubois County Farm Service Agency County Committee.

Other regional nominees for the inaugural Supervisor of the Year Award are:

Richard Yoder, LaGrange County SWCD, North-NE Region

Donald Purkhiser, White County SWCD, North-NW Region

Harold Routson, Wayne County SWCD, North-SE Region

Marshall Nuckolls, Clay County SWCD, North-SW Region

Robert Hettmansperger, Wabash County SWCD, South-NE Region

Paula Baldwin, Marion County SWCD, South-NW Region

Robert E. Mundy, Lawrence County SWCD, South-SE Region

Approximately 400 conservationists representing Soil and Water Conservation Districts, the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, ISDA Division of Soil Conservation, and the Purdue Cooperative

Extension Service, are participating in the conference that concludes today with the IASWCD's annual Legislative Breakfast for state representatives and senators and the Association's annual business meeting and election of officers.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: