[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 70°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 50°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

North Clay claims seven champions in WIC runner-up finish

Friday, March 20, 2009

The North Clay wrestling team crowned seven champions at the Western Indiana Conference Meet recently. Champions included: (back from left) Zach Williams, Dylan Green, Jesse Miller and Larry Shaffer and (front) Garrett Modesitt, Shane Ryan and Dylan Thompson.
Staff Report

The North Clay wrestling team narrowly missed out on a conference championship earlier this month, placing second to Edgewood's 319.5 points with 295. South Vermillion took third with 278 followed by Owen Valley, Brown County and Sullivan.

The Knights topped all teams with seven individual champions on the day to go with three runner-up finishes, three third-place competitors and four athletes taking fourth.

In the 85-pound class, Shane Ryan took home the title for North Clay by pinning Edgewood's Eli Housel and claiming a 2-1 victory in the title match.

Garrett Modesitt took home a victory at 115 pounds by defeating Edgewood's Cody Cowden via 4-0 decision and then defeating Brown County's Turner Voland by fall in just 50 seconds.

Dylan Thompson was also a winner, claiming a pair of falls.

In his opener, he won over Brown County's Dallas Martin by pin in 1:48 and then added a pin in 2:40 against Owen Valley's William Newforth.

At 155 pounds, eighth-grader Larry Shaffer opened with a major decision, 13-1, before taking down Brown County's George Fowler in 2:43 for the title.

The upper weight classes provided the Knights with a wealth of team points as North Clay won three of the final four classes.

Dylan Green scored a pin in just 33 seconds over Edgewood's Jordan Richardson at 180 pounds and then added a 46-second fall over John Natale of South Vermillion.

At 220 pounds, Jesse Miller also earned a championship, winning via fall in 24 seconds in his first match and then adding a pin over Drew Bradley of Owen Valley in 40 seconds.

Zach Williams won the heavyweight crown with a fall over South Vermillion's Matt Musall in 2:33 and then finishing off a 4-3 decision against Edgewood's Logan Staley.

Second-place finishes went to Trance Kelley at 90 pounds, Ethan Cornwell at 125 pounds and Justin Sampson at 245.

In third-place was Ryan Head at 80 pounds, Christian Crews at 120 and Chandler Damon at 135. Fourth-place finishes went to Jackson Copper at 95, Tyler Green at 145 and Damien Solomon at 165.

2009 WIC Junior High Tournament

Team Scores

Edgewood 319.5, North Clay 295, South Vermillion 278, Owen Valley 257.5, Brown County 188.5, Sullivan 138

70 -- Tanner Bishop (SV), Brandon Laughlin (EW)

75 -- Davin Huber (SV), Jarod Pyle (EW)

80 -- Scott Seeley (SV), Will Millspaugh (SL), Ryan Head (NC), Tyler Stout (EW)

85 -- Shane Ryan (NC), Christian Norman (SV), Eli Housel (EW), Cody Leeper (BC)

90 -- Seth Clawson (EW), Trance Kelley (NC), Alden Westcott (BC), 4. Tanner Waldrop (SV)

95 -- Devin Broukal (OV), Gabe Koontz (EW), Michael Long (BC), Jackson Copper (NC)

100 -- Jackson Snyder (EW), Austin Ely (BC), Corey Orndorff (SL), Ben Meyers (OV)

105 -- Kaelan Shouse (OV), Tanner Smith (SV), Mike Mest (EW), Jarrad Klitz (SL)

110 -- Greg Johnson (BC), Dallas Owen (EW), Brandt White (OV), Dalton Berry (SL)

115 -- Garrett Modesitt (NC), Turner Voland (BC), Cody Cowden (EW), Taylor Kirkhoff (OV)

120 -- Dylan Quackenbush (BC), Colt Thompson (SL), Christian Crews (NC), Garrett Jammes (SV)

125 -- Fred Elick (EW), Ethan Cornwell (NC), Melody Koller (BC), Evan Piper (SV)

130 -- Dylan Thompson (NC), William Newforth (OV), Dallas Martin (BC), Nick Byrd (SL)

135 -- Aaron Brown (EW), Jacob Morley (OV), Chandler Damon (NC), Tyler Smith (SV)

140 -- Ethan Yates (OV), Damon Reiber (SV), Jonathon Sullivan (SL)

145 -- Sean Huss (OV), Logan Holt (SL), Evan Bower (EW), Tyler Green (NC)

155 -- Larry Shaffer (NC), George Fowler (BC), James Tussey (OV), Damien Chambers (EW)

165 -- Michael Novak (SV), Ben Patton (EW), Dillan McGraw (OV), Damien Solomon (NC)

180 -- Dylan Green (NC), John Natale (SV), Jordan Richardson (EW), Dyllin Trueblood (SL)

220 -- Jesse Miller (NC), Drew Bradly (OV), Zach Thorne (SV), Chester Bond (BC)

245 -- Adam Stultz (SV), Justin Sampson (NC), James Cooper (OV), Cole Holley (BC)

275 -- Zach Williams (NC), Logan Staley (EW), Matt Musall (SV), Kevin Delp (OV)