[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Purdue names football captains

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. (AP) -- Purdue players have voted for five seniors as captains for the 2009 season.

The players selected are quarterback Joey Elliott, defensive tackle Mike Neal, linebacker Jason Werner, safety Torri Williams and center Jared Zwilling.

Elliott suffered a separated shoulder last season, but he recovered to perform well during spring practice. Coach Danny Hope said Elliott returned stronger and more quickly than expected.

Zwilling, a former defensive tackle, earned the offense's Pit Bull award for intense play this spring.

Neal won the Hammer Award, presented to the outstanding hitter of the spring.

Williams, a sixth-year senior, was given an extra year of eligibility after an injury-plagued career.

Werner sat out last season with a back injury.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: