[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 53°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Boggs earns SWIAC medalist honors, Eels finish second

Sunday, May 17, 2009

Clay City's Zach Boggs became only the second Eel to win low medalist in the SWIAC Tourney on Saturday.
Staff Report

LINTON -- The Clay City golf team might have gotten off to a bit of a slow start, but you can chalk much of that up to inexperience.

The Eels are playing just fine now and continued their improvement on Saturday with a second-place finish in the SWIAC Tournament held at the Phil Harris Course in Linton.

The Miners finished as the winners, tallying a 325, but it was the Eels that had the low-medalist in the tourney.

Freshman Zach Boggs became just the second Eel to finish as the low-medalist in the SWIAC Tourney and did so with a round of 76, which earned him All-Conference honors.

Linton placed four players on the All-Conference team, which is determined by any player carding an 85 or better.

Jordan Bradbury, Brady Stefancik, Ben Boyd and Derrick Barker each shot better than 85 to pace the Miners to the victory.

For the Eels, both Braxton Griffith and Kyler Rhodes each shot a 93 followed by a 94 from Austin Sinders and a 97 from Darius Farmer.

The Eels shot a 356 as a team to beat third-place North Daviess, Bloomfield, Union, Eastern, Shakamak and White River Valley.

The Eels are back in action today when they travel to Sullivan to face the Arrows and WRV at 4:30 p.m.

1. Linton 325, 2. Clay City 356, 3. North Daviess 378, 4. Bloomfield 386, 5. Union 388, 6. Eastern 436, 7. Shakamak 451, 8. White River Valley 466

Low Medalist Honors: Zach Boggs -- 76 (Clay City)

All Conference Honors went to: Zach Boggs -- Clay City 76, Jordan Bradbury -- Linton 78, Brady Stefancik -- Linton 81, Ben Boyd - Linton 82, Derrick Barker - Linton 84, (Any score 85 or better is All Conference).

Linton: Jordan Bradbury 78, Brady Stefancik 81, Ben Boyd 82, Derrick Barker 84,

Chase Rhoten 88

Clay City: Zach Boggs 76, Braxton Griffith 93, Kyler Rhodes 93, Austin Sinders 94, Darius Farmer 97

N. Daviess: Blake Burkhart 89, Logan Brinegar 90, Blane Lawyer 92, Derrick Raber 107, Nick Heshelman 110

Bloomfield: Andrew Bladen 90, Chad Mead 90, Derek Corn 94, Bradley Seymour 112, Justin Bennett 118

Union Michael Talpas 88, Taylor House 93, Caleb Hale 100, Fred Burst 107, Tyler Talbas 110

Eastern: J. T. Yoho 95, Geordi McLennan 108, Kendall Byers 113, Matt Goodwin 120, Bryant Burton 127

Shakamak: Jon Wildin 87, Garrett Scott 110, Nick Harris 124, Dylan Phipps 130.

WRV: Eric Gregg 111, Cody Hershman 114, Trey Graves 119, John Ashcraft 122, Tim Gregg 126