[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Wabash Valley Red Cross conducts annual meeting

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

TERRE HAUTE -- The American Red Cross Wabash Valley Chapter conducted its annual membership meeting Tuesday.

Each year, the local Red Cross Chapter conducts an annual membership meeting to elect members to the Board of Directors for the upcoming fiscal year and to recognize area benefactors and volunteers for their service to the community through the chapter.

Members of the Chapter Board of Directors may be elected to serve three consecutive three-year terms.

Clay County resident Martha Loughmiller was elected to her second term Tuesday, along with Jim Chesterson (Vigo County) and Ginger Scott (Putnam County).

Individuals elected to their first term included Vigo County resident Dan Dayhuff and Putnam County resident Cynthia Schrader.

Retiring board members included Crystal Brown and Jim Dunbar (Vigo County), Eldon Dunford (Sullivan County), Teresa Ellis and Tom Ellis (Greene County) and Tom Rohr (Parke County).

Board members eligible to continue to serve included Cindy Belt, Margaret Englum Wilson and Pat Finch (Edgar County, Ill.), Rod Bosley, Randi Brown, Adam Fischer, Tom Sawyer, LeRoy Sedgwick and Lawrence Buckner (Vigo County), Kathie Skeel (Putnam County) and Mark Wilson (Vermillion County).

In addition, several awarded were handed out.

Clay County resident and Ivy Tech Community College intern Tracey Dickens received the Health and Safety award for teaching more than 1,200 area youth proper hand washing techniques to prevent the spread of disease.

In addition, Clay County residents Carol Allen and Jane Walters were recognized as disaster volunteers who worked on national disaster assignments in communities outside of the Wabash Valley.

The Wabash Valley Red Cross Chapter is dedicated to saving lives and helping people prevent, prepare and respond to emergencies in Clay, Greene, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Vermillion and Vigo counties in Indiana and Edgar County in Illinois.

For more information, call Wabash Valley Executive Director Carol Stevens at 812-232-3393 Ext. 11, or e-mail cstevens@wabashvalleyredcross.org.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: