[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

NHS students earn Lilly endowment scholarships

Sunday, May 31, 2009

Two students each from Vigo, Clay and Sullivan counties will receive four-year full-tuition scholarships as the 2009 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars for their respective counties.

In addition to full tuition to the Indiana college of their choice, each scholar will receive an annual stipend of up to $800 for required books and equipment.

Funded by Lilly Endowment, Inc., this scholarship program is administered by the Wabash Valley Community Foundation and its affiliates, the Clay County Community Foundation and the Sullivan County Community Foundation.

Representing Northview High School as a Clay County Lilly Endowment Community Scholar this year is Rachel Alstott, daughter of Tony and Rhonda Alstott, Brazil. In addition, Northview's Allison Stearley, daughter of Rick and Jan Stearley, was also named a scholarship winner.

The Community Foundation received more than 230 applications from students in the three-county area. Each county had its own selection committee composed of citizens from each county. The selection process was "blind," in that all identifying material was concealed prior to application review by the committees in an effort to make this as fair a process as possible.

Any student entering college for the first time in the fall of 2009 who resided in or attended school in Clay, Sullivan or Vigo counties and was (or would be) a graduate of an accredited Indiana high school in the current or past two academic years was eligible to apply.

The scholarship seeks to select well-rounded individuals and does not lean solely on academic achievement.

Selection criteria for the three-county area is weighted as follows, 10 percent financial need, 45 percent academic achievement and 45 percent activities outside the academic setting, such as extracurricular activities, service to the greater community and/or part-time employment.

The scholarship committees in each county conducted interviews and narrowed the field down to two nominees and one alternate in each of the tree counties. The nominees' applications were then submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc., (ICI) for the selection of the recipients.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree-granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The scholarships were the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.

There were 216 scholarships awarded statewide.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: