[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Beauchamp claims first sprint car victory at Lincoln Park Speedway

Sunday, May 31, 2009

Casey Shuman takes a tumble during the sprint car feature at Lincoln Park Speedway. He was uninjured in the crash.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE -- Nearly perfect weather greeted fans at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday evening and with it came a great night of racing.

A well prepared, smooth racing surface awaited drivers who unloaded for a shot at taking home the winners' share in each of the four classes.

There were several new competitors in the sprint car division who made the trip back to Lincoln Park Speedway and Brent Beauchamp was one of them.

The young hotshoe returned for the first time since an opening night runner-up finish to Casey Shuman and both drivers were hoping for another podium finish.

Beauchamp got his night started right by claiming his heat race ahead of Kent Christian, who already has one LPS victory to his credit this season.

Cullen Goodman won his first UMP Super Stock feature of the season on Saturday.
Marc Arnold and Billy Puterbaugh took third and fourth ahead of Shuman, who was in his second night in the beautiful, orange Barnhill Racing Team machine.

James Bradshaw and Troy Link had strong second heat runs to edge out Kenny Carmichael Jr. and Andrew Prather.

Lining up the feature, Beauchamp started fourth, but showed early on that he would be strong on starts. From the wave of the green he jumped to the point in the Dri-Bar, Concrete Connection, Simpson Racing and Butler-sponsored No. 11.

Beauchamp built a solid lead over the early circuits of the feature as Link and Christian fought for second-place ahead of Bradshaw and Arnold.

An early caution came out for a spin by Brandon Mattox and Arnold as the field lined up single file behind Beauchamp for a re-start.

Again, as the green waved, Beauchamp pulled away before a slight bobble saw him jump the turn three cushion and lose much of his acquired lead. Link, Christian, Arnold and the rapidly arriving Shuman and Billy Puterbaugh reeled Beauchamp in and the battle was on.

With numerous side-by-side battles being waged throughout the field, Shuman was the first driver to be felled by some hard luck. Racing for position down the backstretch, Shuman and another car made contact and the Arizona native took the brunt of the collision, getting upside down by the pit entrance. Though he walked away uninjured, the Barnhill machine was done for the evening.

On the restart, Beauchamp maintained his lead as Link had his hands full with the charging Puterbaugh. The defending points champion dove low into turn four and was able to escape with second-place and set his sights on Beauchamp.

With five laps remaining, Beauchamp rocketed his mount into turn two where he deposited much of his brake assembly.

Getting a break as Beauchamp lost his, Puterbaugh shot into a side-by-side battle with Beauchamp for a lap before squeezing into the lead. He would hold that spot very briefly before he jumped over the cushion in turn three and Beauchamp re-took the spot before a spin on the white flag lap left one more chance.

Shane Hollingsworth had stalked the two front runners for several laps after stealthily moving through the field after starting outside the top-10 after a seventh-place in his heat race.

On the re-start, Beauchamp wasn't going to be denied his first win of the season as he blasted through four more corners and claimed the checkers ahead of Hollingsworth and Puterbaugh. Arnold placed fourth ahead of Christian, Link, Bradshaw, Dakota Jackson, Todd Kimmell and Prather.

In the UMP Modified feature, Travis Shoulders won a race for the ages, holding off Paul Bumgardner by a matter of inches to take his second feature win of the year.

Shoulders took the lead early in the feature, edging past pole sitter, Kenny Carmichael Sr. for the top spot. However, Bumgardner stayed on his bumper lap-after-lap looking for an opening.

Behind them, Carmichael was holding down third with challenges from Phil VanSant and Richie Lex with Gary Hall and Michael Purtlebaugh in tow.

As the laps wound down, Bumgardner stuck his nose under Shoulders a couple of times to no avail. However, it was on the final lap that Bumgardner made his final move.

With Shoulders on the top, Bumgardner shot the Durabuilt Racing No. 54 hard into turn three under Shoulders and got it to stick there. Both drivers stood on the pedal coming out of turn four, but it was Shoulders who had just enough extra momentum off the top to claim the win in the Cardinal Contracting, Durabuilt Racing, Eubank & Sons, Ottawa Instant Homes and Still Here Liquors sponsored modified.

Lex moved up to take third ahead of Carmichael, VanSant, Hall, Mark Auler, Dan Lewellen, Purtlebaugh and Albert Gardner.

In the UMP Superstock feature, Cullen Goodman took advantage of some mechanical misfortune in the early going by Kenny Carmichael Jr. and then held off the challenges of Doug McCullough and Greg Amick late in the race.

An early collision collected Jacob Wright, Kris Starks and Michael Conner, further thinning the feature ranks.

From there, Goodman kept the First Financial Bank super stock out front the rest of the way to take home his first win of the year. Afterwards, Goodman thanked Don Smith of First Financial as well as Steve and Terry Sutliff and Kenny and Virginia Weaver for their support.

Slick Griffin placed fourth ahead of Joe Starks, Elijah Heminger, Mark Blalock, Carmichael Jr., Conner and Wright.

In the final feature of the evening, Ben Williams made it three wins this year, holding off C.J. Bryan, Ryan Freeland, Chad Nolte and Chuck Walden.

Ron Wallen Sr. led the early laps of the race before losing a wheel during a caution period in which his son, Ron Wallen Jr. also left the track after suffering a flat tire.

David Wallen went on to finish sixth followed by Josh Presley, Richard Watkins, Corey Gregory and Art Heminger.

This Saturday will be Salute to Brazil Night with Brazil residents with state-issued ID receiving $2 off admission.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint car feature

1. Brent Beauchamp, 2. Shane Hollingsworth, 3. Billy Puterbaugh, 4. Marc Arnold, 5. Kent Christian, 6. Troy Link, 7. James Bradshaw, 8. Dakota Jackson, 9. Todd Kimmell, 10. Andrew Prather, 11. Casey Shuman, 12. Chris Gentry, 13. Michael Fischesser, 14. Brandon Mattox, 15. Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Heat winners: Brent Beauchamp, James Bradshaw

UMP Modified feature

1. Travis Shoulders, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Richie Lex, 4. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 5. Phil VanSant, 6. Gary Hall, 7. Mark Auler, 8. Dan Lewellen, 9. Michael Purtlebaugh, 10. Albert Gardner, 11. Harold Grayless, 12. Paul Wright, 13. Brian Kempf, 14. Jared Hix, 15. Wayne Cooper, 16. Steve Carpenter, 17. Jaymie Turner, 18. Josh Fagg, 19. Doug Bryant Jr., 20. Michael Beatty

Heat winners: Kenny Carmichael Sr., Travis Shoulders, Paul Bumgardner

UMP Super stock feature

1. Cullen Goodman, 2. Doug McCullough, 3. Greg Amick, 4. Slick Griffin, 5. Joe Starks, 6. Elijah Heminger, 7. Mark Blalock, 8. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 9. Michael Conner, 10. Jacob Wright, 11. Kris Starks, 12. Travis Heramb

Heat winners: Doug McCullough, Cullen Goodman

Bomber Feature

1. Ben Williams, 2. C.J. Bryan, 3. Ryan Freeland, 4. Chad Nolte, 5. Chuck Walden, 6. David Wallen, 7. Josh Presley, 8. Richard Watkins, 9. Corey Gregory, 10. Art Heminger, 11. Ron Wallen Sr., 12. Ron Wallen Jr., 13. Josh Fagg, 14. James Cass, 15. Jack Campbell, 16. Cory Williamson, 17. Michael Thompson, 18. Cullen Sandusky, 19. Daylan Chambers, 20. Jason Cox, 21. Justin Clodfelter

Heat winners: Ron Wallen Sr., Chuck Walden, Jason Cox

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: