[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Northview recognizes spring athletes

Friday, June 12, 2009

Northview High School recently recognized spring sports athletes.

For the first time, the school handed out the Noble Knight award. The award is presented to one athlete in each sport throughout the year and -- according to school officials -- signifies the athletes' contribution to NHS athletics in terms of service, dedication, commitment and leadership.

In baseball, Matt Nodley received the award while Kade Baker earned it for golf. Lauren Webster received the award for softball and Mitch Haviland earned the award for boys' track. Corey Laue received the award for girls' track and Kaci Kehrt earned the award for girls' tennis.

It was also noted at the banquet that Northview captured the Western Indiana Conference All-Sports Trophy for girls' athletics.

During the celebration, the NHS softball and girls' tennis squads were recognized for winning the WIC titles this season.

In addition, girls' track discus thrower Samantha Solomon and boys' golfer Kade Baker were recognized as Sectional Champions.

The following is a list of athletes earning 2009 WIC All-Conference status as provided by the high school:

Baseball: Brock Lawson, Caleb Mason, Zac Niehaus

Golf: Kade Baker, Drew Snyder, Ryan Turner

Softball: Emily Phillips, Raven Enders, Alyssa Conrad, Shelby Colson

Girls' Track: Shandi Travis (high jump), Elle Kleiber (400-meter relay), Jessica Thacker (400-meter relay), Krista Stearley (400-meter relay), Annie Smiley (400-meter relay), Samantha Solomon (discus)

Boys' Track: Conor Strain

Tennis: Bonnie Froderman, Allie Melega, Lauren Reberger.

The following is a list of winners provided by Northview High School:


Craig Trout Leadership Award (Captain awards): Matt Nodley, Kyle Pestoff, Brock Lawson

Brady Shoemaker Offensive Player of the Year: Zac Niehaus

Andrew Griffin Memorial MVP Award: Brock Lawson

Mental Attitude Award: Matt Nodley

TJ King Rookie of the Year: Kodie Girton

David Ullery Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Nodley

Brad Pierce Most Improved Varsity Player: Kyle Pestoff

Andy Lumsdon Pitcher of the Year: Brock Lawson

Boys' Golf

Senior Awards: Austin Akers, Kade Baker, Byron Felchila

Most Fairways Hit: Austin Akers

Most Greens in Regulation: Kade Baker

Best Putting Average: Ryan Turner

Best Scoring Average: Kade Baker

Most Improved: Drew Snyder, Ryan Turner

MVP: Kade Baker

Boys' Track

Most Valuable Runners: Conor Strain, Joel Whittington

Mental Attitude Award: Eric Dyar

Most Improved: Ryan Lutes

Senior Awards: Ryan Lutes, Jared Royer