[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 60°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Knights prepped for state finals

Sunday, June 14, 2009

The first Northview golfer will tee off at the Indiana High School Athletic Association State Finals at 8:48 a.m., Tuesday.

The Northview squad will compete in the first round of state competition on the back 9 of The Legends of Indiana Golf Club, Franklin.

NHS junior Daniel Eaglin will hit the course with a foursome consisting of Providence's Bryce Very, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory's Hayden Koplow and Prairie Heights' Derrick Shipe.

Northview junior Ryan Turner will tee off at 8:56 a.m., along with Robert Spiller (Providence), Pat Hermiller (Brebeuff) and Mike Reynolds (Prairie Heights), while Drew Snyder will tee off at 9:04 a.m., with Andrew Lobeck (Providence), Jacob Could (Brebeuf) and Casey Anderson (Prairie Heights).

NHS senior Austin Akers will tee off at 9:12 a.m., with Benjamin Rose (Providence), Chris Goodyear (Brebeuf) and Matt Shultz (Prairie Heights) and classmate Kade Baker will hit the course at 9:20 a.m., with William Pfund (Providence), Eric Ong (Brebeuf) and Mitch Bellam (Prairie Heights).

The first players in the tourney will tee off at 8 a.m. The last group of players will hit the links at 10:08 a.m.

In addition to Northview, Providence, Brebeuf and Prairie Heights, golfers from other teams participating in the state tournament this year include Floyd Central, Hamilton Southeast-ern, Mishawaka Marian, West Lafayette, Evansville North, Bedford-North Lawrence, Carmel, Chesterton, Terre Haute South, Indianapolis Cathedral, Homestead, Twin Lakes, Avon, Lapel, Greensburg, South Knox, Yorktown, LaPorte, Lafayette Jefferson, Warsaw Community, Boone Grove, Lebanon, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Ben Davis, Evansville Central, Bloomington North, Norwell, Roncalli, Signature, Pendleton Heights, Triton, Indianapolis Lutheran, Center Grove, East Central, Liberty Christian, Penn, Fort Wayne Canterbury, and Heritage Hills.

The top nine teams and any other team within 12 strokes of the lead after the first round advance to the second round, which will take place Wednesday.

For individuals, the top nine, excluding those individuals advancing with a team, also advance if they are within four strokes of the lead following the first round.

Admission for state finals is $8 per session or $12 for both sessions.

Indianapolis Cathedral won the state finals last year while Avon was second.

Northview's last appearance in the state finals came in 2000, although Brazil advanced to the state tournament in 1940 and 1941.

The Knights advanced to the state championship after firing a 322 at the Washington Regional last Thursday.

Akers paced the Knights with a 78 while Baker had a 79.

Turner finished with an 82 while Eaglin had an 83 and Snyder had an 85.

Tee Times

At The Legends of Indiana Golf Club


Northview Tee Times

8:48 a.m. -- Daniel Eaglin

8:56 a.m. -- Ryan Turner

9:04 a.m. -- Drew Snyder

9:12 a.m. -- Austin Akers

9:20 a.m. -- Kade Baker

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: