[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 53°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Akers and Maesch part of Class Basketball All-Star game

Friday, June 19, 2009

Austin Akers is competing at the Indiana Class Basketball All-Star Classic at New Castle High School this evening.

Times Sports Editor

Northview senior Austin Akers will have the opportunity to show off his skills on the hardwood at least one more time before he suits up for Olney Central Junior College next season.

Akers will participate in the Indiana Class Basketball All-Star Classic to be played at New Castle High School this evening.

The unique format includes two boys' games and a pair of girls' games broken up according to what class the players' high school competed in during the season.

The boys and girls will each have a 1A-2A State Team vs. the 1A-2A Metro-Central Team and a 3A-4A State Team vs. the 3A-4A Metro-Central Team.

Akers will play for the 3A-4A State Team that will have Terre Haute South coach Mike Saylor and Northview head coach Ernie Maesch at the helm.

Joining Akers on the State Team will be Purdue recruit, Stevie Loveless of Frankfort and Fort Wayne Snider's Reggie Hearn, who is going to Northwestern. Plainfield graduate Blake Metcalf, who will attend Albany University in the fall, is also on the squad.

Suiting up on the opposing bench will be a talent-laden lineup that includes Indiana Mr. Basketball, Jordan Hulls, who is going to Indiana University. Kelsey Barlow of Cathedral, a Purdue recruit, is also on the Metro-Central team along with IU football recruit, Charlie Duffy of Hamilton Southeastern.

The 3A-4A game will be the final one of the evening beginning at approximately 6 p.m.

Other notable players include Rockville's R.J. Mahurin, an Indiana State recruit, who will play for the 1A-2A Metro-Central squad. In the girls' games, Owen Valley's Heather and Nickole Gonser will participate along with Union's Megan Gambill and North Putnam graduate, Leah Crosby.

The 1954 Milan Indians and the 1955-1956 Crispus Attucks teams have been invited and are bringing their respective museums and memorabilia to the event. Members committed to be there include Ray Craft, Rollin Cutter from Milan and Attucks team members Willie Merriweather, Bill Hampton, John Gitson, Sam Milton, John Clemons and Oscar Robertson is making every effort to be here.

Ticket prices are $5 for a single game and $15 for all four games.

Indiana Class Basketball All-Star Classic


1A-2A State vs. 1A-2A Metro-Central girls game, noon

3A-4A State vs. 3A-4A Metro-Central girls game, 2 p.m.

1A-2A State vs. 1A-2A Metro-Central boys game, 4 p.m.

3A-4A State vs. 3A-4A Metro-Central boys game, 6 p.m.

Boys and girls rosters

3A-4A State Boys' Team

NameHigh SchoolCollege
JaRob McCallumMarionUniv. of Wisc.-Milwaukee
Krste RuizMunsterUndecided
Reggie HearnFW SniderNorthwestern
Trevor GeorgePrincetonUndecided
Austin AkersNorthviewOlney Central
Ryan SmithMerrillvilleUndecided
Colt RyanBatesvilleEvansville
Kendal BrownEv. HarrisonS. Illinois
Jawaun ScaifeMuncie CentralBall State
Stevie LovelessFrankfortPurdue
Blake MetcalfPlainfieldAlbany, NY
Dee JonesColumbus NorthHanover
Karvel AndersonElkhart MemorialUndecided

Coaches: Mike Saylor (THS) and Ernie Maesch (Northview)

3A-4A Metro-Central Boys team

NameHigh SchoolCollege
Greg RiceBen DavisIUPUI
Jordan HullsBloom. SouthIndiana
Daniel FroedgeAndersonSante Fe (Florida) C.C.
Corey ClemensNew CastleMorehead State
Damon EllisonNorth CentralFlorida Southern
Aaron EvansRoncalliPurdue-Calumet
Kelsey BarlowCathedralPurdue
Jarrett HamiltonCathedralUndecided
Jay MohrAnderson HighlandUndecided
Charlie DuffyHamilton SEIndiana (Football)
Justin Reid North CentralKankakee JC
Phillip FreemanArlingtonVincennes

Coaches: Cliff Hawkins (Center Grove) and Michael Wantz (Roncalli)

1A-2A State Boys' Team

Cody WaltersDalevilleUndecided
Josh GordonNortheast DuboisUndecided
Brock WoodwardBlufftonTaylor
Thomas NugentNorth DaviessVincennes University
Tyler ViekeVincennes RivetDePauw
Colton KeelTritonBethel
Tommy StrineLakewood Park ChristianAnderson College
Jim FaehrLawrenceburgHanover
Andy ChinnTell CityEvansville
Dru AnthropLaf. Central CatholicPurdue
Kyle GreenSwitzerland CountyFranklin
Aaron MartinRossvilleIndiana Wesleyan
Myles ThiesNorth JudsonBall State
Jordan MeyersForest ParkSouthern Illinois

Coaches: Corey Scott (Daleville) and Travis Daugherty (Bishop Chatard)

1A-2A Metro-Central Boys' Team

NameHigh SchoolCollege
R J MahurinRockvilleIndiana State
Matthew GehlJac Cen DelUndecided
Ryan NowickiGuerin CatholicHanover
Drew SchaussCentervilleBrevard North Carolina
Kyle BradleyIndian CreekDanville Area (Illinois)
Michael HornerLiberty ChristianAnderson
Drake HendricksWapahaniHanover
Mark DirksenSeton CatholicUndecided

Tim Arnett, Jac-Cen-Del........Ripley Co............Undecided

Braden MillerCambridge City LincolnU. of Indianapolis (Football)
Tommy EgglestonHeritage ChristianPennsylvania
Derrick PondOak HillJoliet Community College
Tyler KochWinchesterWright State

Coaches: Pete Smith (Guerin Catholic) and Dave Mahurin (Rockville)