[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 49°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Holtsclaw claims first Bloomington sprint win of season

Sunday, July 5, 2009

Danny Holtsclaw (No. 3) battles for the lead with Ethan Barrow (center) and Jeff Bland Jr. during the feature at Bloomington Speedway on Friday.

BLOOMINGTON -- The largest crowd of the season converged on the Bloomington Speedway for its annual Gigantic Aerial Fireworks display, and the great racing action that permeates from the track every Friday night. Common race fans, combined with some fans that possibly have never seen a race on the quarter mile, looked wide eyed at the skies as the Bloomington Speedway paired with Bloomington Powersports for the explosive fireworks display.

Thirty-four Safety-Kleen Sprint Cars, Twenty-three Tire and Wheel Center UMP Super Stocks, and Twenty-four O'Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds filled the pit area.

Danny Holtsclaw used a dramatic pass with two laps to go to claim his first ever Safety-Kleen Sprint Car main event at Bloomington Speedway.

Eric Smith and Ethan Barrow paced the field to the green in the 25-lap Safety Kleen sprint car main event, with Smith leading lap one. Barrow and Danny Holtsclaw ran second and third, with Jeff Bland, Jr. fourth.

Bland moved past Barrow for third on lap three, and then shot around Holtsclaw for fourth on lap four. He briefly grabbed the lead from Smith coming down the backstretch on lap five, but Smith moved back under him.

Action came to a halt on lap five, as Casey Shuman flipped coming out of turn one.

Smith and Bland led the field to the restart, with Smith getting a great restart. Bland almost flipped in turn two, as he caught the cushion, and fell back a few positions. Chaos ensued behind them, as a five-car accident brought out the red flag. Tony Reed was the worse for wear, as he ended up upside down in the fracas. The good news for Bland, was that a lap was not scored, and he retained his second position.

The second attempt at the lap five restart saw Smith pull out to a four car length advantage over Bland.

On lap eight, the top three cars of Smith, Bland, and Holtsclaw began to pull away from the fourth place running car of Ricky Williams, who was a full straightaway behind.

Smith, using the bottom of the race track, kept his lead at about three car lengths, as the rim-riding Bland closed in on lap 14. With ten to go, Bland shot around Smith to take the lead, leaving Smith to contend with Holtsclaw for second. The red flew for the third time on lap 17, as Tim Spindler flipped in turn two. Mark Perry III was also involved in the accident.

With eight laps to go, Bland took the green on the restart, with Smith diving under him to take the point. Bland got crossed up, coming out of turn two and lost some ground on Smith.

The caution flew on lap 19, as Ty Deckard and Brent Beauchamp stopped in turn two. With Smith now back at the helm, he took the green on the restart. Behind Smith, Holtsclaw and Bland battled for second.

It quickly became a three way battle for the lead, as you could throw a blanket over the top three. Smith began to show signs of smoke, as he lost the lead to Bland on lap 22. Holtsclaw moved around Smith also to move to second. With one to go, Bland lost the lead to Holtsclaw, who shot under him coming to the white. Holtsclaw made the pass stick, as he held on to win his first feature of the year at Bloomington Speedway . Rounding out the top five were Bland, Jr., Smith, Short, and Coleman Gulick. Holtsclaw is sponsored by Farm Bureau Insurance, Sprint Mart, and Bell Helmets. The Sprint Mart hard charger was Kenny Niflis, who started 16th and finished 8th.

Safety-Kleen Sprint Car heat races went to Ricky Williams, Ethan Barrow, Jeff Bland, Jr., and Brady Short. The B-Main went to Tony Reed.

Jack Frye and Brad Cummings led the field to the green in the 25-lap Tire and Wheel Center UMP Super Stock main event.

Cummings bolted to the lead at the start, and led lap one ahead of Frye and Troy Clark. The caution flew before a lap could be scored, as Justin Hammond spun off of turn two. With the field lined up for a complete restart, it was Frye leading lap one this time with Cummings second.

Behind the leaders, Clark battled Earl Plessinger for the third spot, with Clark keeping the position.

On lap five, Cummings made an attempt to dive under Frye for the lead, but Frye held on to the spot. On lap eight, Kyle Zike blew a right rear tire, and left a debris field on the frontstretch to bring out the yellow.

On the restart, Frye once again took the field to the green, with Cummings right on his back bumper. At the halfway point, the top-five was Frye, Cummings, Greg Amick, Clark, and Plessinger.

With ten to go, Frye held his lead at just over three car lengths over Cummings, who now had Amick breathing down his neck. Cummings was able to hold him off, and put some space between he and Amick. Cummings closed within a car length of Frye, with six laps to go. With five to go, Amick tried once again to shoot under Cummings for second, and made the move stick on lap 21. Amick now closed within a car length of Frye, who had a lapped car in front of him with two to go. Frye cleared the lapped car, and took a five car length advantage to the white flag.

That advantage was enough, as Frye cruised to his second victory on the season ahead of Amick, Cummings, Clark, and Rick Hines. Frye led all 25 laps of the main event in his Ron Hardesty Insurance, Crown Vending Food Service, Chips Counter Tops, Liberty Bail Bonds, Sgt. Smith National Guard, K&S Rolloff, Smoke-N-Lotto, Terry Cummings Racing Engines, VanHorn Racing Graphics, Extreme Performance sponsored No. 2

Tire and Wheel Center UMP Super Stock heat winners were Troy Clark, Jack Frye, and Clayton Perry. The B-Main went to Lee Hobbs.

Michael Purtlebaugh and Kent Robinson made up the front row for the O'Neal Wood Products UMP Modified 25-lap feature.

Robinson shot to the lead at the outset to lead lap one ahead of Purtlebaugh and Richie Lex. Clint Demoss shot into third, and then got around Purtlebaugh for the runner up spot on lap three.

Behind them, Josh Eads and Matt Bex battled for fourth, with Eads holding the spot. By lap five, Robinson held over a half straightaway advantage over DeMoss.

The caution flew on lap seven, as Derek Groomer spun in turn four.

Robinson and DeMoss led the field to the green, with Demoss challenging for the lead on lap eight. Demoss made a move to the inside of Robinson coming out of turn four to complete lap eight, but Robinson was able to hold him off.

Robinson opened up his advantage on Demoss on lap ten to about six car lengths. At the halfway point, it was Robinson, DeMoss, Eads, Purtlebaugh, and Bex completing the top five.

The field slowed once again on lap 13, as debris was spotted in turn two. Robinson led the field to the green with 12 laps to go, opening up another comfortable advantage over Demoss.

As laps ticked away, Robinson held steadfast to his lead, keeping it at just over five car lengths over Demoss, who himself had a good advantage over Eads in third.

A three car accident, involving Chris Martin, Matt Hamilton, and Chris Vinnedge brought out the caution on lap 17.

With just eight laps to go, Robinson had to find ways to keep Demoss behind him.

The plan? Use the bottom of the race track.

With five to go, Robinson and Demoss were seperated by just a car length. Demoss tried to switch to the highside with four to go, but lost some ground on Robinson. With one lap to go, it was all Robinson out front, taking the checkers ahead of Demoss, Eads, Clint DeMoss, and Purtlebaugh rounding out the top five. Robinson led every lap in the process in his JB Salvage, Universal Products & Services, Bob Pierce Race Cars, Hovis Race Engines sponsored No. 7R.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: