[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 53°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Cummins wins thrilling sprint feature at Lincoln Park Speedway

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Kyle Cummins (No. 3c) and Cole Carter go at it in a top-five battle at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday. Cummins went on to collect his first win of the season.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE -- There was no shortage of action on Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway as another thrilling night of racing took to the dirt oval in Putnamville.

Steamy weather provided plenty of heat on a sunny August evening, but the sprint cars did their share as well.

Despite a hot, dry week of weather, Joe Spiker and his track prep crew provided an excellent racing surface that retained moisture throughout the entire evening's slate.

Kent Christian started outside of Jeff Bland Jr. to start the feature ahead of Kenny Carmichael Jr. and Dickie Gaines.

Bland, climbed into the Pottorff owned No. 11 on this particular night and rocketed away to a dominating heat race victory and looked ready to do the same in the feature. Bland jumped out to a big lead as the green flag waved as Kent Christian tried to stay in the picture over the feature's early laps.

An early caution drew Bland back to the field, but he was untouchable on restarts and drew back out to a comfortable margin with Christian remaining in second followed by Gaines and Shane Hollingsworth. Billy Puterbaugh had rushed into contention with Cole Carter and Carmichael Jr. in two.

Steve Sheeks (No. G1) goes door-to-door with Michael Conner during the feature on Saturday. Sheeks claimed his first win this season in the RHF Fabrication sponsored super stock.
With Hollingsworth charging hard into turn two, his sprinter bounced a couple of times and eventually went over to bring out a brief red flag. The No. 34 was righted quickly and Hollingsworth stayed in the race despite going to the tail.

Bland got another great jump as the cars rocketed off the green flag as Puterbaugh slipped past Carter and Gaines into third. Both Carter and Gaines were locked in a battle for the fourth spot as a late yellow flew.

Christian left the track with apparent mechanical woes leaving Puterbaugh eyeing the top spot behind Bland. Kyle Cummins had jumped up to third ahead of Carter and Todd Kimmel had roared up from 15th to fifth-place.

On the restart, Carter's hopes for a great finish were dashed as he made contact with a lapped car and got sideways. He was forced to go the tail of the field.

With two laps to go, Bland held fast to the lead, but Puterbaugh got a titanic run coming into turn three. Bland stayed along the cushion, but Puterbaugh's speed was just a little too much as the car bicycled up onto two wheels. He was able to scrub off some of the speed, but as the car came back down Puterbaugh tagged Bland and both drivers had promising evenings come to close.

Both cars were hauled back to the pits via wreckers leaving a two-lap dash for the cash with Cummins and Kimmel both eyeing the prize.

Cummins had the edge heading through the white flag lap and looked like the outcome was sealed, but coming high into turn four the 3c machine left a small window for Kimmell. He got a good run coming off the bottom as the two drag raced to the checkered flag where Cummins edged Kimmell by inches.

Cummins' win was his first of the season and came in the ReMax, Vincennes University, Trusses by Hobgood, Kyle Cummins Engineering sponsored machine powered by a Cummins racing engine.

Seth Parker had an excellent run to third ahead of Casey Shuman, Gaines, Carter, Troy Link, Carmichael, Ray Humphrey and James Bradshaw. Bland and Puterbaugh finished 10th and 11th.

In the UMP Modified feature, Brian Hayden found his way back to victory lane for the second time in as many weeks.

Hayden was able to hold off a spirited challenge from Bradley Sterrett in the Cyclone Custom Products, Ottawa Instant Homes, Indiana Open Wheel sponsored No. 2H.

Clint DeMoss and Paul Bumgardner went at it tooth and nail down the stretch for the third position, running side-by-side to the wire with Kenny Carmichael Sr. in fifth. Wes McClara came home sixth ahead of Paul Wright, David Bumgardner, Phil VanSant and J.D. Francis.

In the UMP Super Stock main event, The Bucktown Flyer, Steve Sheeks, came home in the top spot in the RHF Fabrication, Jackson Oil, Sheeks Racing machine. He was able to beat out Doug McCullough to the checkered flag followed by a strong run by Joe Starks, Michael Conner and Slick Griffin. In sixth-place was Mark Dickerson followed by Kenny Carmichael Jr., Tony Erdly, Jake Byers and Dennis Morgan.

The final feature of the evening was also a tight affair as C.J. Bryan halted Dustin Shoulders' three-race win streak. Bryan didn't win by much as Shoulders came through the field from a 10th starting position to make the final few laps very interesting.

The two came out of turn four nearly even, but it was Bryan who edged Shoulders to the line. Ron Smith came home third ahead of Ryan Freeland and Josh Settles. Chuck Walden was sixth ahead of David Bumgardner II, Josh Presley, Richard Watkins and Corey Gregory.

Next weekend will be another regularly scheduled show with sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers at LPS.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint car feature

1.Kyle Cummins, 2. Todd Kimmell, 3. Seth Parker, 4. Casey Shuman, 5. Dickie Gaines, 6. Cole Carter, 7. Troy Link, 8. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 9. Ray Humphrey, 10. James Bradshaw, 11. Jeff Bland Jr., 12. Billy Puterbaugh, 13. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 14. Shane Hollingsworth, 15. Jeff Wimmenauer, 16. Mike Hagemier, 17. Kent Christian, 18. Michael Severs, 19. Michael Fischesser, 20. Cam Schafer

B-main winner: Casey Shuman

Heat winners: Dickie Gaines, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Jeff Bland Jr.

UMP Modified feature

1.Brian Hayden, 2. Bradley Sterrett, 3. Clint DeMoss, 4. Paul Bumgardner, 5. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 6. Wes McClara, 7. Paul Wright, 8. David Bumgardner, 9. Phil VanSant, 10. J.D. Francis, 11. Roger Mills, 12. Travis Shoulders, 13. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 14. Doug Bryan Jr., 15. Karl Roethemeier, 16. Garry Ricketts, 17. Michael Beatty, 18. Josh Fagg, 19. Dan Lewellen, 20. Gary Hall

Heat winners: Travis Shoulders, Clint DeMoss, Bradley Sterrett

UMP Super Stock feature

1.Steve Sheeks, 2. Doug McCullough, 3. Joe Starks, 4. Michael Conner, 5. Slick Griffin, 6. Mark Dickerson, 7. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 8. Tony Erdly, 9. Jake Byers, 10. Dennis Morgan, 11. Jamie Adams, 12. Mike Callahan, 13. Gary Archer, 14. Jacob Wright, 15. Kris Starks, 16. Travis Heramb, 17. Chris Bennett, 18. Tony Sevier, 19. A.J. Smith, 20. Randy Newport, 21. Matt Jordan, 22. Doug Flynn Jr.

Heat winners: Jake Byers, Mark Dickerson, Doug McCullough

Bomber feature

1.C.J. Bryan, 2. Dustin Shoulders, 3. Ron Smith, 4. Ryan Freeland, 5. Josh Settles, 6. Chuck Walden, 7. David Bumgardner II, 8. Josh Presley, 9. Richard Watkins, 10. Corey Gregory, 11. Ronald Blake, 12. Jordan Almanza, 13. David Wallen, 14. James Cass, 15. Dale Lewis, 16. Daylan Chambers, 17. Jack Campbell

Heat winners: C.J. Bryan, Dale Lewis

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: