[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Puterbaugh claims $2,000 payday at Lincoln Park Speedway

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Kenny Carmichael Jr. celebrates his sprint car win at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE -- Cool temperatures and an occasional drizzle throughout the evening wasn't able to dampen the spirits of drivers and fans alike as Lincoln Park Speedway raced into October for the first time in recent memory.

Joe Spiker Promotions continued the racing season on Saturday and 105 cars, including 31 sprint cars unloaded for a shot at $2,000-to-win.

Brownsburg's Billy Puterbaugh last visited victory lane at Lincoln Park Speedway back on Aug. 1, which is quite a dry spell for the three-time track champion.

On Saturday night, that streak came to a close as he bested Shane Hollingsworth, pulling away over the final handful of laps to claim the extra payday in the family owned No. 16 sponsored by Creative Design Embroidery, Zore's, DRC Chassis and Indy Race Parts.

Thomas Meseraull won his heat race along with Hollingsworth, Justin Marvel and Puterbaugh and the four drivers took up the first two rows to start the A-main.

On the green, it was Hollingsworth jumping to the front and looking to repeat as a feature winner. He led the first couple of laps before he slipped off the top of the cushion in turn two and Meseraull slipped by in lapped traffic. Puterbaugh stalked the pair in third-place as Marvel, Jackson and Cole Carter lurked within striking distance.

Just a couple laps later, it was Meseraull who slipped up as Hollingsworth jumped back into the lead before a caution came out for a spin by Jeff Wimmenauer.

On the restart, Hollingsworth remained on point as Puterbaugh caught up to Meseraull down the frontstretch. The two were alongside each other coming off turn two and Puterbaugh zipped by down the backstretch into turn three. As Meseraull came into turn two he was caught up in some contact as a pair of cars, including Marvel were collected. Meseraull was forced to the pits on the back of a wrecker with damage to the left front of his Paul Hazen-owned sprinter.

When the green came out once again, Hollingsworth went high off turn two's banking and gave Puterbaugh the opening he needed to jump out front as Jackson had Jesse Cramer right on his tail tank for third-place. Further back, Marvel had flashed back through the field after his spin to earn a sixth-place finish. Puterbaugh continued to add to his lead over the final few laps to claim the checkered flag as Hollingsworth, Jackson, Cramer and Carter finished in the top-five. Marvel was sixth, ahead of Jared Fox, James Bradshaw, B-main winner, Aaron Mosley and Ray Humphrey.

The second sprint feature of the night was claimed, in impressive fashion by Kenny Carmichael Jr., who rolled to the victory ahead of Nick Johnson, Daren Krockenberger, Arin McIntosh and Dave Scott.

In UMP Modified action, the 2009 season has been one to remember for Travis Shoulders.

The "Clay Oval Cowboy" rang up his fourth feature win at Lincoln Park Speedway on Saturday night, which came on the heels of a second-place finish in the season points.

This win came in thrilling fashion as Shoulders led the entire way until the final corner as Kenny Carmichael Sr. got a great run off the bottom through turns three and four. Carmichael was able to actually take a car length lead off of turn four with the checkered flag in sight, but Shoulders took a world of momentum off the top and was able to barely edge Carmichael at the finish line for the victory.

Rodney Harris was a contender over the duration of the feature as well, hanging back in third-place as Carlos Bumgardner battled side-by-side with Craig Conyer as Wes McClara and Justin Gregory followed.

Shoulders was holding onto a small lead up front as Carmichael began to challenge during the second half of the race. Harris held onto third followed by Conyer, Chris Brewer and McClara.

Behind the exciting finish between Shoulders and Carmichael, Harris held off Conyer for third-place as McClara took fifth followed by Bumgardner Sr., Brewer and a great run by Jimmy Hayden, who started 16th and finished eighth ahead of Michael Purtlebaugh and James Tumey.

Shoulders win came in the Cardinal Contracting, Durabuilt Racing, Eubank & Sons, Ottawa Instant Homes and Still Here Liquors sponsored modified.

Roy Bruce Jr. came about 100 feet away from winning his first UMP Super Stock feature of the season two weeks ago, but a spin in turn four after contact from Kenny Carmichael Jr. was enough to hand Greg Amick the victory.

Bruce Jr. wasn't going to be denied this time around, even by Mother Nature. He jumped out front from the wave of the green after winning his heat race and starting on the pole. As light rain began to fall, he held a lead over 2009 points champion, Doug McCullough, and Brazil's Slick Griffin, who came back after replacing a drive line earlier in the night.

The rain began to get heavier, but Bruce kept his super stock glued to the small cushion on top as McCullough tried to close the gap while dueling with Griffin. Travis Butler and Carmichael Jr. were locked in their own tussle over the final laps. Rain would finally claim the final few laps as the steady drizzle finally made the track too slick to continue racing safely.

Bruce got the win ahead of McCullough, Griffin, Butler, Carmichael Jr., Mike Staggs, Kris Starks, Jake Beyers, Steve Hollars and David Huff.

Sprint car feature ($2,000-to-win)

1.Billy Puterbaugh, 2. Shane Hollingsworth, 3. Dakota Jackson, 4. Jesse Cramer, 5. Cole Carter, 6. Justin Marvel, 7. Jared Fox, 8. James Bradshaw, 9. Aaron Mosley, 10. Ray Humphrey, 11. Tommy Rockwell, 12. Chris Babcock, 13. Shawn Krockenberger, 14. Jeff Wimmenauer, 15. Michael Fischesser, 16. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 17. Thomas Meseraull, 18. John Boyd, 19. Nate McMillin, 20. Kyle Robbins

Second sprint feature

1.Kenny Carmichael Jr., 2. Nick Johnson, 3. Daren Krockenberger, 4. Arin McIntosh, 5. Dave Scott, 6. Greg Boyd, 7. Warren Perkins, 8. Eric Krockenberger, 9. Will Nedderman, 10. Alex Pettas, 11. Seth Parker

Last chance winner: Aaron Mosley

Heat winners: Billy Puterbaugh, Justin Marvel, Shane Hollingsworth, Thomas Meseraull

UMP Modified feature

1.Travis Shoulders, 2. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 3. Rodney Harris Jr., 4. Craig Conyer, 5. Wes McClara, 6. Carlos Bumgardner, 7. Chris Brewer, 8. Jimmy Hayden, 9. Michael Purtlebaugh, 10. James Tumey, 11. Brian Hayden, 12. Dan Lewellen, 13. Doug Bryant Jr., 14. Scott Ricketts, 15. Brent Gregory, 16. Chad Combs, 17. Justin Gregory, 18. Jacob Wright, 19. Josh Edmondson, 20. Jaymie Turner

B-main winner: Jimmy Hayden

Heat winners: Kenny Carmichael Sr., Travis Shoulders, Rodney Harris Jr.

UMP Super Stock feature

1.Roy Bruce Jr., 2. Doug McCullough, 3. Slick Griffin, 4. Travis Butler, 5. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 6. Mike Staggs, 7. Kris Starks, 8. Jake Byers, 9. Steve Hollars, 10. David Huff, 11. Scott Tidwell, 12. Tony Erdly, 13. Travis Heramb, 14. Raymond Crone, 15. Larry Babbs, 16. Mike Callahan, 17. A.J. Smith, 18. Rob Dildon, 19. Josh Burton, 20. Chris Bennett, 21. Scott Carrington

B-main winner: Scott Tidwell

Heat winners: Roy Bruce Jr., Doug McCullough, Scott Carrington

Bomber feature

(Rained out)

B-main winner: C.J. Bryan

Heat winners: Richard Watkins, Chuck Walden, Ryan Freeland