[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 49°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 53°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Clay City boys second at SWIAC cross country meet

Friday, October 9, 2009

Shakamak's Drew Gambill (far left) was the SWIAC individual winner on Thursday with Parker Modesitt (center) finishing second and Jesse Vansickle (right) in sixth-place.
Times Staff Report

JASONVILLE -- The Southwestern Indiana Conference cross country meet might have been one of the very few high school events that took place on Thursday evening.

The meet went on as scheduled, albeit in soggy conditions and in a steady rain at the Shakamak High School course. Times were a bit slower than normal due to plenty of standing water on the course, but the Lakers' Drew Gambill cruised to an easy win, by slightly more than a minute over Clay City's Parker Modesitt. Gambill finished in a time of 16:44 while Modesitt was second in 17:46.

Eastern (Greene) maintained its streak of narrow team wins against the Eels by scoring a 37 to 41 win and take the SWIAC crown. Bloomfield was a distant third with 66 points with the Lakers in fourth with 121. Linton and WRV rounded out team scoring while North Daviess and Union had incomplete teams.

In the girls meet, Julie Riggins was the individual winner in 20:46, edging past the Lakers' Casey Fougerousse, who finished in 21:15.

Bloomfield was the team winner with 27 points, beating out Eastern's score of 41 followed by Shakamak with 62 points. Clay City, North Daviess and White River Valley each had incomplete teams.

Clay City's Nutchaya Thongthanee finished 30th at the SWIAC Meet on Thursday night
The top-10 individuals in each of the boys and girls races earned all-conference honors and the Clay City boys placed three on the SWIAC squad as Jesse Vansickle finished sixth in 18:08 and Conner Modesitt in 10th with a time of 18:37.

Ben Denker finished 14th for the Eels in 19:00 followed by Austin Sinders in 17th with a time of 19:36, Wayne Tharp was 28th in 20:56 and Landry Moss was 34th in 22:12.

The Clay City girls were led by Tiffani Goodman in 14th with a time of 25:02, Kaleigh Decker was 24th in 27:35, Ashley Sumner was 26th in 27:37 and Nutchaya Thongthanee was 30th in 29:46.

The Eels will be back in action next at the sectional on Oct. 13 beginning at 5 p.m.

Southwestern Indiana Conference

At Shakamak

Boys team results

Eastern Greene 37, Clay City 41, Bloomfield 66, Shakamak 121, Linton 124, White River Valley 139, Union inc., North Daviess Inc.

1. Drew GambillShakamak16:44
2. Parker ModesittClay City17:46
3. Austin CampbellNorth Daviess17:47
4. Jake PhegleyUnion17:50
5. Brad MartinEastern17:53
6. Jesse VansickleClay City18:08
7. Robert BukaBloomfield18:17
8. Tyler IgelEastern18:26
9. Zach BrunerEastern18:28
10. Conner ModesittClay City18:37
11. Kyle SmithBloomfield18:41
12. Michael HartmanEastern18:45
13. Tyler BroughEastern18:51
14. Ben DenkerClay City19:00
15. Ryan O'NeallBloomfield19:08
16. Keith MilhoanEastern19:20
17. Austin SindersClay City19:36
18. Nathan SparksEastern19:40
19. Ryan BredewegLinton19:43
20. Cole RigglemanLinton19:48

Other Clay City: 28. Wayne Tharp, 20:56, 34. Landry Moss, 22:12

Boys All-Conference Team:

Drew GambillShakamak
Parker ModesittClay City
Austin CampbellNorth Daviess
Jake PhegleyUnion
Brody MartinEastern
Jesse VansickleClay City
Robert BukaBloomfield
Tyler IgelEastern
Zach BrunerEastern
Conner ModesittClay City

Girls team results

Bloomfield 27, Eastern Greene 41, Shakamak 62, Eastern, Linton, WRV, Clay City Inc., Union had no runners

1. Julie RigginsBloomfield20:46
2. Casey FougerousseShakamak21:15
3. Alley GillandBloomfield22:21
4. Sumer CundiffEastern22:22
5. Sydney SpiceEastern22:44
6. Sarah MillerBloomfield23:24
7. Rachel SturgeonEastern23:28
8. Avery FrederickBloomfield23:35
9. Kristin HallBloomfield23:46
10. Jessie WebsterNorth Daviess23:55
11. Charleen WarrenBloomfield24:00
12. Olivia RobinsonLinton24:04
13. Laura HughesWhite River Valley24:46
14. Tiffany GoodmanClay City25:02
15. Hannah HammEastern25:26
16. Megan PhippsShakamak25:30
17. Kelsey OvertonLinton26:00
18. Elise MillerShakamak26:17
19. Haley RennickLinton26:30
20. Emily OsborneEastern26:38

Other Clay City: 14. Tiffani Goodman, 25:02, 24. Kaleigh Decker, 27:35, 26. Ashley Sumner, 27:37, 30. Nutchaya Thongthanee, 29:46

Girls All-Conference Team

Julie RigginsBloomfield
Casey FougerousseShakamak
Alley GillandBloomfield
Sumer CundiffEastern
Sydney SpiceEastern
Sarah MillerBloomfield
Rachel SturgeonEastern
Avery FrederickBloomfield
Kristin HallBloomfield
Jesse WebsterNorth Daviess