[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Chelanga and Bizzarri claim individual titles; Oklahoma State and Villanova take team championships

Monday, November 23, 2009

Samuel Chelanga of Liberty won the individual men's title in a course record time.
TERRE HAUTE -- The sun broke through the clouds and the temperatures warmed up matching the hot action on the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course Monday afternoon as the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships were held at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center.

ISU's Eric Schulz competed in the men's 10,000 meter race and finished 151st with a time of 31:23.7.

"He got caught in the back of the field at the start," John McNichols, Indiana State men's coach, said. "With the quality of athletes in this competition, that is not a good place to be. He ran really well, though, and finished strong."

The story of the men's race was Liberty junior Samuel Chelanga who broke away early and was never challenged. Chelanga had a 20 second lead midway through the race and set a new course record by finishing in 28:41.3. Northern Arizona junior David McNeill took second place with a time of 29:06.5 while Stanford sophomore Chris Derrick was third in 29:14.8.

Oklahoma State earned their second NCAA Championship by winning the team title with 127 points. The Cowboys won their first NCAA title in 1954. Oregon, the 2007 and 2008 national champion, took second with 143 points while Alabama finished third with 173 points and Northern Arizona fourth with 190.

The women's 6,000 meter race began with a battle between Florida State senior Susan Kuijken and Colorado senior Jenny Barringer but neither would eventually win the race. Barringer dropped off the pace just past the 2K mark and would finish a disappointing 134th.

The fast initial pace set by Kuijken and Barringer did not deter Illinois senior Angela Bizzarri and Washington sophomore Kendra Schaaf, who took control of the race just past the 5K mark. Bizzarri had the stronger kick of the two and crossed the finish line in first with a time of 19:46.8. Schaaf would finish second in 19:51.6 with Kuijken third in 190:57.7.

Villanova, who entered the championships ranked second in the nation, went home with the team championship, scoring 86 points in a dominating win. It was the eighth national championship for Villanova and their first since 1998.

Florida State captured second place with 133 points with defending champion Washington taking third with 188. Texas Teach was fourth with 191 points.

2009 Division I Cross Country Championships

At Terre Haute

Men's team scoring: Oklahoma State 127, Oregon 143, Alabama 173, Northern Arizona 190, William & Mary 226, Colorado 315, Wisconsin 321, New Mexico 350, Iona 350, Stanford 354, Villanova 359, Oklahoma 386, Portland 394, Syracuse 405, Virginia 408, Iowa State 430, BYU 468, Washington 470, Arizona State 472, Providence 482, Ohio State 483, Georgetown 485, Louisville 490, Minnesota 493, Auburn 504, Arkansas 535, North Carolina State 539, Texas 605, Duke 605, Florida State 612, Michigan State 654

Top-10 individuals

1. Samuel Chelanga (Liberty) 28:41*, 2. David McNeill (N. Arizona) 29:06, 3. Chris Derrick (Stanford) 29:14, 4. Barnabas Kirui (Miss.) 29:24, 5. Jordan Chipangama (N. Arizona) 29:33, 6. Dorian Ulrey (Ark.) 29:37, 7. Brandon Bethke (Ariz. State) 29:38, 8. Andrew Bumbalough (Georgetown) 29:39, 9. Ryan Vail (Ok. State) 29:40, 10. Colby Lowe (Ok. State) 29:42.

Women's team scoring: Villanova 86, Florida State 133, Washington 188, Texas Tech 191, Princeton 251, West Virginia 251, Florida 260, Duke 272, Oregon 276, Minnesota 310, Providence 349, Illinois 365, New Mexico 368, Penn State 375, Virginia 391, Stanford 408, Iowa State 446, Syracuse 450, BYU 453, Colorado 458, Georgetown 495, UTEP 500, Notre Dame 519, Arizona State 520, SMU 581, Michigan State 601, Michigan 637, Baylor 666, Ohio State 673, Arizona 682, Indiana 716

Top-10 individuals

1. Angela Bizzarri (Ill.) 19:46, 2. Kendra Schaaf (Wash.) 19:51, 3. Susan Kuijken (FSU) 19:57, 4. Catherine White (Virg.) 19:59, 5. Allie McLaughlin (Col.) 20:01, 6. Amanda Marino (Vill.) 20:02, 7. Megan Duwell (Minn.) 20:06, 8. Emily Infield (Georgetown) 20:07, 9. Risper Kimaiyo (UTEP) 20:10, 10. Cecily Lemmon (BYU) 20:11.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: