[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 51°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Carter, others to sign state conservation agreement

Sunday, January 10, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS -- The 67th annual conference of Indiana Soil and Water Conservation Districts provides the perfect stage next week for a momentous conservation signing.

Tuesday morning, leaders from the state's main conservation organizations will gather at the Hyatt Regency in Indianapolis at 8:30 a.m., to sign a new Indiana Conservation Partnership Agreement welcoming three additional members into the fold.

They will be joined by Gov. Mitch Daniels' Policy Director for the Environment and Natural Resources, David Pippen.

The partnership, who will welcome new members next week include:

* Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts, Paula Baldwin, President,

* Indiana State Department of Agriculture Division of Soil Conservation, Joe Kelsay, Director:

* Purdue Cooperative Extension Service, Jim Mintert, Assistant Director for Agriculture and Natural Resources,

* State Soil Conservation Board, Nola Gentry, Chair, and

* The USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Jane Hardisty, State Conservationist.

The signing welcomes new members, including:

* Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Tom Easterly, Commissioner,

* Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Robert Carter, Director, and

* The USDA Farm Services Agency, Julia Wickard, State Executive Director.

The new agreement jointly provides leadership in the state on natural resource conservation issues. As conservation partners, the entities are independent, having independent responsibilities yet dependent upon each other for successful delivery of resource management programs and services. Leaders will meet annually to review Indiana Conservation Partnership strategic initiatives.

The agreement also sets a partnership vision, goals, objectives and guiding principles for Indiana's conservation vision.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: