[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 50°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Big rush in final days of candidate filing

Friday, February 19, 2010

In typical fashion, there was a mad rush on the Clay County Election Office to file a declaration of candidacy for the May 4 Primary Election.

Of the 82 total filings submitted between Jan. 20, and noon, Friday, 21 declarations of candidacy were provided Thursday or Friday.

The following is a list of individuals who filed an official declaration of candidacy with the Clay County Election Office between 1 p.m., Tuesday, Feb. 16, and the filing deadline of noon, Friday, according to position:

* Clay County Prosecutor -- Robert Alex Pell,

* Clay Community School Board of Trustees, At-Large -- Barbara E. Nicoson, Ronald Lee Scherb and Robert A. (Rob) Miller,

* Jackson Township Board -- Douglas L. Barr,

* Dick Johnson Township Board -- John Dale Loughmiller,

* Cass Township Board -- Rose E. Thompson,

* Sugar Ridge Township Board -- John H. Nicoson, N. Rosella Parks, Donald L. Ream and Tommy Joe Zurcher,

* Van Buren Township Board -- Joseph C. Mogan, Elmer L. Martin and Ralph E. (Pete) Taylor,

* Republican State Convention Delegate -- Ben Thomas, John W. Price, Betty Clerk, David W. (Dave) Evans, Sharon Koehler and Andy Lohrman,

* Democratic State Convention Delegate -- Ellen L. Reeves and Robert J. (Rob) Gambill,

* Brazil 6 Precinct Committeeman -- Brian L. Wyndham,

* Brazil 2 Precinct Committeeman -- Nancy L. White,

* Sugar Ridge Precinct Committeeman -- Mary Ruth Zurcher,

* Posey Township Board -- Jon R. Yocom and Robert J. (Rob) Gambill,

* Posey 2 Precinct Committeeman -- Edward Nevins,

* Perry Township Trustee -- Kevin Barrett

* Perry Township Board -- Kirby A. Barrett.

Those who were "on the fence" when filing have a short time to reconsider as withdrawals of candidacy declarations must be completed by noon, Monday, Feb. 22.

In addition, no declarations of candidacy had been filed for the following positions:

* Lewis Township Trustee,

* Lewis Township Board (three open positions),

* Washington Township Trustee,

* Washington Township Board (three open positions), and

* Committeemen for the following precincts -- Brazil 4 and 5, Dick Johnson, Harrison 2, Jackson 1 and 3, Lewis, Posey 1 and 3 and Van Buren 1.

The Brazil Times also has plans to announce the candidacies of all running in countywide and school board elections.

The deadline for prospective candidates is 5 p.m., Friday, Feb. 26, to contact The Times via telephone at 446-2216, Monday-Friday, from 8 a.m.-4 p.m., or by e-mail at scoop1j@gmail.com. Those running may also fax at 812-446-0938, and candidates are encouraged to call the office to make sure the notice was received.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Good to see so many people trying to make a difference. Kind of sad to see some positions go past the filing deadline with no one applying to run for those positions.

-- Posted by seventyx7 on Sat, Feb 20, 2010, at 8:19 AM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: