[The Brazil Times nameplate] Light Rain ~ 58°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Several Eels earn All-TRC hoops honors

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Carmela Roeschlein
Times Staff Report

The Tri-River Conference recently announced its all-conference selections for the boys' and girls' basketball season.

The North Central Thunderbirds and Shakamak Lakers were co-champions with 4-1 records in the TRC. Ironically, the two schools squared off in the sectional title game at White River Valley High School last weekend with the T-Birds and upset, 36-35, victor over the Lakers. North Central reached the championship game by defeating Clay City 60-57 in the semifinal. The Lakers finished the season with a 17-8 mark.

North Central (13-9) will face Indianapolis Lutheran on Saturday at noon in the Martinsville Regional.

The All-TRC first team includes players from three different teams as North Central placed Ethan Stanifer and Bobby Swaby on the squad and the Lakers' Billy Newton and Tyler Richardson earned the honor as well. The final member of the first team is high-scoring Em-inence guard, Dawson Gore.

On the second team are Clay City Eels' Logan Higgins and Tyler Bridgewater along with Linton's Chase Rhoten, North Central's Jordan Stefancik and Union's Tyler Talpas.

Honorable Mention honors went to Union (Dugger's) Trent Collins, Linton's Austin Karazsia and Caleb Stuppy, Shakamak's John Smith and Eminence's Ronnie Marcum and Grant Shupe.

North Central's girls' were unbeaten (5-0) conference champions this season, but it was the Clay City Eels who posted the sectional title, defeating the T-Birds, 41-32 in the semifinals before claiming the title over Shakamak, 47-37.

Brielle Drelick
The Eels placed a pair of players on the All-TRC first team as sophomores, Carmela Roeschlein and Brielle Drelick earned the honors. North Central's Jocelyn Boyll was also a first team selection along with Shakamak's Casey Fougerousse and Linton's Stephanie Fougerousse.

Second team honors went to North Central's Kate Brown and Maria Drake along with Shakamak's Mikayla Crane, Linton's Savannah Mason and Union's Sayna Nicol.

Earning Honorable Mention honors were Clay City senior Kelly McCullough, Eminence's Nikki Campbell and Dani Merrick, Shakamak's Marki Collins, Olivia Robison of Linton and Union's Morgan Stanifer.