[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Eels place second at Tri-River Meet

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Darius Farmer studies a putt during his round at the Tri-River Conference Meet at the Phil Harris Golf Course in Linton.
Times Staff Report

LINTON -- The Linton Miners might have lost some key players from last year's team that placed fifth in the Owen Valley Sectional, but it didn't matter during Saturday's Tri-River Conference Meet.

The Miners captured their 12th consecutive TRC team title easily with a score of 317, which topped second-place Clay City by a comfortable margin of 53 strokes.

Despite returning just two of the players that saw action in the sectional last year, the Miners had four golfers on the First Team All-Conference squad as Luke Jerrells carded a 78 to lead th Miners and both Chase Rhoten and Cole Bradbury each shot 79 on their home course. Ben Boyd was close behind with an 81, Jesse Houchin shot an 84 and Clayton French shot an 85 to round out the winning team's scores.

The Eels placed both Austin Sinders and Darius Farmer on the Second Team All-Conference squad as Farmer tallied a round of 86 and Sinders shot an 89.

Clay City got a 98 from Koby Rhodes, a 97 from Nick Johnson, a 102 from Colton Dyer and Rhett Bigger shot a 103.

North Central finished third as a team with a 382, Union (Dugger) shot a 411 as Tyler Talpas shot a First Team All-TRC score of 83. Shakamak didn't register a team score with just three members and Eminence didn't participate.

Clay City hosts TRC foe North Central in a head-to-head match-up at home today beginning at 4:30 p.m.

Tri-River Conference Meet

At Phil Harris Golf Course

Linton-Stockton 317; 2. Clay City 370; 3. North Central 382; 4. Union (Dugger) 411; 5. Shakamak no team score; 6. Eminence did not participate.


Chase Rhoten 79

Clayton French 85

Cole Bradbury 79

Luke Jerrells 78

Ben Boyd 81

Jesse Houchin 84


Nick Johnson 97

Darius Farmer 86

Austin Sinders 89

Koby Rhodes 98

Colton Dyer 102

Rhett Bigger 103


Caleb Gilman 85

Matt Hinesley 108

Brennan Crooks 91

Cullen Johnson 114

Chaz Childs 98

Bobby Stucker 121


Selby Shott 108

Zac Birdsong did not finish

Michael Abrams 102

Taylor Cain 122

Tyler Talpas 83

Ethan Fettig 118

SHAKAMAK (Incomplete)

Garrett Scott 97

Jace French 131

Cory Sullivan 114


First team

Luke Jerrells, LS, 78

Chase Rhoten, LS, 79

Cole Bradbury, LS, 79

Ben Boyd, LS, 81

Tyler Talpas, U, 83

Second Team

Jesse Houchin, LS, 84

Clayton French, LS, 85

Caleb Gilman, NC, 85

Austin Sinders, CC, 86

Darius Farmer, CC, 89

Honorable mention

Brennan Crooks, NC, 91

Nick Johnson, CC, 97

Garrett Scott, S, 97

Koby Rhodes, CC, 98

Chaz Childs, NC, 98