[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Racing to November

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Running for County Council District 3, Republican Toni Carter (left) checks over numbers with Clay County Republican Party Chairman Sharon Koehler. [Order this photo]
* Votes determine Prosecutor, County Council races

After the dust settled in two hotly contested races Tuesday evening, voters made their selections for candidates in the upcoming 2010 Clay County General Election.

The Republican Party had two contested races on the primary ballet.

The race for Clay County Prosecutor will be between incumbent B. Lee Reberger and Democratic candidate Charles Hear, who is an attorney in Clay County.

Although a narrow margin separated the candidates in the early phase of the precinct results, Reberger won at the end with 1,646 votes, while opponent Robert Pell garnered 1,544.

"I really appreciate the support I received today," Reberger told The Brazil Times. "This reaffirms the work I've done the past five-and-a-half years and really encourages me to continue working for this community in the future."

Running unopposed, Hear received 1,037 votes during the primary election.

Political newcomer Toni Carter was elected the Republican candidate for County Council District 3.

Carter received a total of 762 votes, while Rick Neier had 352 votes.

"I'm thankful and very happy," Carter said after the final results were in. "But this isn't over yet. I'll be back out there in the fall, knocking on doors."

Incumbent Dolores Johnson (Dem.) received a total of 378 votes.

The following incumbents ran unopposed during the primary election, yet garnered the following votes:

* Auditor: Dem. Mary Jo Alumbaugh -- 1,285,

* Treasurer: Rep. Debra S. James -- 2,740,

* Sheriff: Rep. Michael W. Heaton -- 2,851,

* Assessor: Rep. D. Mark Barnhart -- 2,783,

* County Commissioner, District 3: Rep. Paul R. Sinders -- 2,786,

* County Council, District 1: Dem. Rita E. Rothrock -- 306,

* County Council, District 2: Dem. Steven J. Withers -- 266, and

* County Council, District 4: Rep. Larry J. Moss -- 644.

Political parties have until June 30 to conduct a caucus (elect) a representative to fill any ballot vacancies. Only one individual from each party may be placed on the General Election Ballot.

The 2010 Clay County General Election will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 2.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.


Congrats on your victory.

Charles Hear

-- Posted by Charles Hear on Tue, May 4, 2010, at 10:23 PM

I vote for Jason Brown. Go for it Jason!!!!! B.S.

-- Posted by ape1 on Tue, May 4, 2010, at 10:33 PM

All is NOT what it seems. Do your homework before you vote.

-- Posted by karenmeister on Wed, May 5, 2010, at 9:01 PM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: