[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 59°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Northview trio playing in All-Star game

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Jonathan Bradshaw will take part in the Wabash Valley All-Star Game on Saturday.

Times Sports Editor

The Northview football team put together another outstanding record last season, finishing at 8-2 overall and was ranked 13th in the final Class 4A Coaches Poll and reached No. 11 in the Associated Press Poll.

A relatively young team that featured just nine seniors, the Knights placed three of those athletes in this weekend's All-Wabash Valley All-Star game being held at Indiana State's Memorial Stadium at 7 p.m.

Jonathan Bradshaw was selected as the First Team tight end for the North All-Stars, which will be coached by Marshall's Todd Evers.

Bradshaw made 36 receptions for 372 yards and five touchdowns. He also grabbed eight two-point conversions this season for the Knights.

Scotty Wheeler, a 6'4, 285 lb. lineman received a Division I scholarship to play football for Kent State next year. Wheeler was a three-year starting offensive tackle for Northview and also earned All-Western Indiana Conference honors last year. Wheeler expects to compete for playing time as a freshman this fall. He joins another former Northview football player on a Division I roster as Joey Evinger enters his senior season at Louisville. Evinger also capped his senior prep season by playing in the Wabash Valley All-Star game.

Anthony Hubbard has also been selected to play in the all-star game on Saturday after a standout senior year for the Knights. Hubbard is a 5'10, 220 lb. athlete that saw playing time at several different line positions, including defensive end.

Scotty Wheeler will play his final high school football game at Memorial Stadium before joining Kent State's football program.
The Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association was founded in 2003 with the intent of gathering high school coaches and supporters of football throughout the Wabash Valley. Twenty-two schools made up the original group, but has since been expanded by seven new schools. Each season the WVFCA hosts several skill camps for athletes in grade school through high school. The annual All-Star game is the year's largest event and provides revenue for various aspects of the WVFCA. Each year the group gives over $4,000 in scholarships to athletes in the game. Since the first game in 2004, the group has given over $20,000 in support.

The North All-Stars have won four of the five games so far, including a 32-16 win in the 2009 contest.

North All-Stars

Coaches -- Todd Evers, Marshall, head coach; Greg Barrett, North Putnam; Jeff Cobb, West Vigo; Troy Johnson, Mattoon; Hank Lopez, Riverton Parke; Ernie Simpson, North Vermillion; Garry Norton, Marshall; Kyle Shay, Marshall.

Casey -- Seth Brewer, Dalton Brooke, Josh Thais, Chris Unzicker 

Cumberland -- Silas Gabel, Jim Kruse, Cole Miller

Marshall -- Brendon Bartnick, Tyler Bishop, Taylor Duncan, Dalton Sanders

Mattoon -- Vince Anello, Jared Dosien, Desmond McDonald, Nick Thomas

North Putnam -- Kyle Adams, Darr Boruff, Shawn Diebold, Brock Jones, Tyler Osborn

North Vermillion -- Mason Clarey, Zach Jumps

Northview -- Jonathon Bradshaw, Jr. Hubbard, Scotty Wheeler

Paris -- Levi Eslinger, Robert Morris, Shawn Seibert

Riverton Parke -- Josh Helton, Shawn White

Rockville -- Levi Berry, James Kent, Tophel Secuskie, Cody Stout

South Vermillion -- Cody Mumaw, Dan Rowe, Dylan Vrzina, Andy Walsh

Terre Haute North -- Aaron Allen, Nick Andreason, Ben King, Chris O'Leary, Shawn Riggs, Trent Walls

Turkey Run -- Seth Marshall

West Vigo -- John Burt, Aaron Hofmann, Josh Hubbard

South All-Stars

Coaches -- Troy Burgess, South Putnam, head coach; Nathan Aker, South Putnam; Brian Crabtree, North Central; Tim Herrin, Terre Haute South; Mike Myers, Greencastle; Duane Potts, Owen Valley; Kyle Winkler, Cloverdale; Mark Wildman, South Putnam (WVFCA Hall of Famer)

Cloverdale -- Jimmy Gibson, Dillin Gray

Greencastle -- Jesse Ford, Jordan Hickam 

Lawrenceville -- Cody McKinney, Aaron Seed

Linton -- Kaleb Bridges, Evan Magni, Stefan Sparks

North Central -- Denver Bailey, Martin Hudak

North Knox -- Johathan Blann, Sam Conrad 

Oblong -- Logan Mendenhall, Elija Plummer, Justin Wartsbaugh

Owen Valley -- Dillon Shedd, Ethan Wood

Olney -- Brandon Bailey, Kurt Goss, Brock Ochs, Blake Stokich

Palestine-Hutsonville -- Zack Carpenter, Dereck Gullett, Connor McCoy

Red Hill -- Trevor Albertson, Tony Theriac

Robinson -- Cody Albaugh, Donnie Daugherty, Max Hutchison, Mitch Thacker, Bennet Williams

South Putnam -- Wes Bratcher, Drew Cash, Derek Dean, Matt Huck, Chris Hurst, Adam Masters

Terre Haute South -- Cody Bell, Billy Byerley, Mitchell Dagnon, Nate Drada, Austin Nicoson, Bryn Schwartz

Sullivan -- Connor Jones, Bobby Nero, Alex Smith, John Walker

Union -- Cody Francis, Dustin Howard