[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 60°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Stanbrough picks up Indiana Sprint Week win at Bloomington

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Jon Stanbrough won the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature at Bloomington Speedway on Friday night on the way to taking the Indiana Sprint Week points title.
BLOOMINGTON -- The 23rd Annual Indiana Sprint Week rolled into Bloomington Speedway on Indiana Stoneworks Night and unleashed an evening of furious sprint car action.

The event featured the United States Auto Club AMSOIL National Sprint Cars and the Midwest Mini Sprint Association Mini Sprints. Jon Stanbrough won the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature race and Mike Kiser took home the checkered flag in the MMSA Mini Sprint feature race.

Jon Stanbrough, of Avon Ind., started from the fifth position took the lead at the midpoint of the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature race and stormed to the checkered flag. Stanbrough, who notched his third win of the Indiana Sprint Week series, had to be very methodical as he picked off the lead cars during the first half of the event.

"I had to be very patient. I knew the car would come to me and I had to find a place to make it work for me," Stanbrough said, "I ran it in the middle, made it stick, and came across the line first."

Stanbrough's victory marked his first Indiana Sprint Week series win at Bloomington Speedway. The win puts Stanbrough within seven points of Indiana Sprint Week series points leader Levi Jones, of Olney Ill.

The sprint car feature race also showcased strong performances from Hunter Schuerenberg, of Sikeston Mo., Jones, and Jon Sciscoe of Bloomington Ind. Schuerenberg and Jones battled furiously traded second position back and forth for much of the race. Sciscoe, who won at Bloomington Speedway on July 2, rode his momentum to a solid fifth place finish.

Mike Kiser, of Cooperstown, N.Y, started from the sixth position and used almost every lap of the MMSA Mini Sprint feature race to work through the field. After a restart with four laps to go, Kiser was able to sneak underneath Gary Loney, of Springfield Oh., and flew to finish line.

The next night of racing at Bloomington Speedway is KIVA Night on Friday, July 23. The event will feature the Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Cars, the O'Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds, and the Tire and Wheel Center UMP Indiana Super Stocks. Grandstands open at 5:30 p.m., hot laps at 6:30 p.m., with racing starting at 7:30 p.m. General admission tickets are $12 for adults, and kids 12 and under are always FREE general admission with a paying adult.

United States Auto Club AMSOIL National Sprint Cars

Heat 1 Winner: Hunter Schuerenberg

Heat 2 Winner: Brady Short

Heat 3 Winner: Jon Stanbrough

Heat 4 Winner: Danny Holtsclaw

"B Main" Winner: Jerry Coons Jr.

Feature: 1.) Jon Stanbrough; 2.) Hunter Scherenberg; 3.) Levi Jones; 4.) Damion Gardner; 5.) Jon Sciscoe; 6.) Bryan Clauson; 7.) Chris Windom; 8.) Bobby East; 9.) J.J. Hughes; 10.) Dave Darland; 11.) Jesse Cramer; 12.) Jerry Coons Jr; 13.) Danny Holtsclaw; 14.) Dickie Gaines; 15.) Tracy Hines; 16.) Kyle Robbins; 17.) Hud Cone; 18.) Robert Ballou; 19.) Brady Short; 20.) Matt Mitchell; 21.) Ricky Williams; 22.) Blake Fitzpatrick; 23.) Daron Clayton; 24.) Henry Clarke; 25.) Jared Harris

Midwest Mini Sprint Association Mini Sprints

Heat 1 Winner: Nick Daugherty

Heat 2 Winner: Scott Bradley

Heat 3 Winner: Mike Kiser

"B Main" Winner: Nathan Mensendiek

Feature: 1.) Mike Kiser; 2.) Gary Loney; 3.) Lynn Ambrose; 4.) Seth Motsinger; 5.) Scott Bradley; 6.) Nick Daugherty ; 7.) Doug Jones; 8.) Tracy Readinger; 9.) Drew Dorsett; 10.) Andy Bradley; 11.) Lynsey Tilton; 12.) Boyd Wolff; 13.) Mark Billings; 14.) Ryan McDonald; 15.) J.D Parker; 16.) Alex Shipman; 17.) Howard McCormick; 18.) Seth Wilkerson; 19.) Luke Wolff; 20.) Nathan Mensendiek

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.


-- Posted by MLO67 on Wed, Jul 21, 2010, at 11:36 AM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: