[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 49°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Farris wins seventh straight Forest Park Men's Club Championship

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Times Staff Report

Troy Farris is no stranger to Forest Park Golf Course, coming into the Men's Club Championship last weekend, Farris had won six consecutive titles at the Brazil golf course.

After shooting a second round of 63, Farris added another title to his resume, claiming his seventh straight men's club championship and his 11th overall. Farris shot a 67 on Saturday and added a 63 on Sunday to complete a 12-under-par score of 130 to win the Open Division.

Eric Trusler shot rounds of 72 and 70 to finish second with a score of 142. He was followed by Matt Willians' 147 and current Rend Lake College golfer, Kade Baker, who shot a 149.

Jeff Eaglin claimed the Senior Division's Championship Flight with a 140 to edge Steve Penman's score of 141.

Bob Braun won a one-stroke victory in the Super Senior Division by edging Bob Moreland. Braun shot a 160 for the win.

Austin Bowen was the Junior Division winner with a 193.


Mountain Dew Junior Golf Tour

Richmond's Tyler Pearson claimed a two-stroke win at Forest Park in the Mountain Dew Junior Golf Tour. Pearson shot a 71 to win the 13-14-year-old division ahead of a 73 by Greencastle's Luke Brotherton.

Linton's Cole Bradbury won the 15-16-year-old division with an 18-hole score of 71. His one-over-par score was enough to edge Derek Hettmansperger by one stroke.

Colin Brooks of Fishers won the 17-19-year-old division with a one-under-par score of 70 to edge Jared Sturgeon. Brazil's Brad Smith shot an 81 to finish in 13th.

In the girls' division, Emily Lewellen of West Lafayette won the 13-14 bracket with a two-stroke win and a score of 94.

Terre Haute's Rachel Welker shot an even par 70 to win by two strokes in the 15-16-year-old division. Ellen Hosking of Zionsville shot a 78 to win the girls 17-19 division.

Next on the local golf schedule will be a stop at Rea Park today for the Pete Dye Junior Golf Tour, which tees up at 1 p.m.

Forest Park Men's Club Championship

Open division

Championship flight

130 -- Troy Farris 67-63

142 -- Eric Trusler 72-70

147 -- Matt Williams 76-71

149 -- Kade Baker 78-71

First flight

144 -- Michael Moore

148 -- Scott Buell

149 -- Dan Moreland

155 -- Zac Clark

158 -- Nick Bonomo

Second flight

151 -- Ryan Turner

154 -- Nathan Rode

160 -- Caleb Edington, Corey Blunk

169 -- Robert Edwards

Senior division

Championship flight

140 -- Jeff Eaglin 73-67

141 -- Steve Penman

148 -- Ron Simpson

First flight

143 -- Alan Buell

155 --- Dan Kirchner

156 -- Rob Halcomb

Second flight

156 -- Denny Lents

159 -- Jeff Symon

164 -- Jerry Lents

Super senior division

160 -- Bob Braun

161 -- Bob Moreland

165 -- Charley Cayton

173 -- John Tribble

174 -- Sonny Smith

175 -- Norm Rainbolt

Junior division

193 -- Austin Bowen

Skill award winners -- Bob Moreland 3, Denny Lents, Rob Halcomb