[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 56°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

County votes for GOP at state, national levels

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Dan Coats
Clay County voters, as a whole, voted for change Tuesday.

In several races at the state and national level, voters in the county selected members of the Republican party.

Overall results from these elections were not known at press time.

In the race for United States Senate, county voters chose Republican Dan Coats over Democrat Brad Ellsworth.

Coats received 4,543 votes (55.42 percent), while Ellsworth tallied 3,187 votes (38.88 percent). In addition, Libertarian Rebecca Sink-Burris earned 465 votes and there were two write-ins.

In the race for United States Representative District 8 (Ellsworth's old seat), county voters overwhelmingly selected Larry Buschon. The Republican finished with 5,024 votes (61.67 percent), while opponent, W. Trent VanHaaften (D) earned 2,666 votes (32.72 percent).

Libertarian John Cunningham also received 456 votes and there was one write-in.

Residents chose Republican John Waterman for State Senator District 39. Waterman finished with 1,704 votes (74.84 percent), while his opponent, Steven M. Thais, finished with 573 votes (25.16 percent).

In the race for State Representative District 43, county voters preferred Republican Alan Morrison over Democrat Clyde Kersey.

Morrison received 485 votes (63.55 percent), while Kersey, the incumbent, tallied 277 votes (36.35 percent).

Jim Baird
In the race for State Representative District 44, Clay County swayed toward Republican James Baird, who finished with 2,753 votes (53.94 percent). Incumbent Nancy Michael (D) tallied 2,146 votes (42.05 percent), while Libertarian Dennis Beatty had 205 votes.

Clay County also favored Republican Bob Heaton in the race for State Representative District 46. Heaton, a Clay City native, finished with 1,64 votes (72.22 percent), while Democrat Bionca Gambill finished with 633 votes (27.78 percent).

Local residents also favored Republicans in the remaining three state races.

Charlie White earned 5,159 county votes for Secretary of State, while Democrat Vop Osili had 2,355. Libertarian Mike Wherry also had 472 votes.

In the race for State Auditor, Republican Tim Berry finished with 5,028 votes while Sam Locke (D) had 2,523. Libertarian Eric Knipe had 330 votes.

Incumbent State Treasurer Richard Mourdock was also heavily favored by Clay County voters, earning 5,385 votes, while challenger Pete Buttigieg (D) finished with 2,462.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: