[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 63°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Area resident honored by Hamilton Center, Inc.

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Hamilton Center, Inc., recently honored the recipients of the 2010 Hamilton Awards. Those honored included (front) Pam Grimes (Volunteer Award), (back, from left) Mary Beth Dougherty (Staff Award), Denise Harden (Staff Award), Mary Yelton (Volunteer Award), Galen Goode (HCI, CEO), Stephanie Laws (Community Award -- Richard G. Lugar Center), and Scott Teffeteller (Community Award -- Union Hospital).
TERRE HAUTE -- Hamilton Center, Inc., recently announced the winners of the 2010 Hamilton Awards.

The awards were presented Oct. 26, at the annual meeting of the Board of Directors at Hulman Center, located on the campus of Indiana State University, Terre Haute.

Officers of the Board presented the awards. Dr. Caroline Carney Doebbeling, Chief Medical Officer of MDwise and President of Cetan Consultants, provided the keynote address to an audience of approximately 320 people.

Hamilton Awards, which are selected by the Executive Committee of Hamilton Center's Board of Directors, are presented annually.

Winners have significantly contributed to the cause of mental health and/or the care of people with mental illnesses, addiction problems, or developmental disabilities.

Hamilton Awards have been presented annually since 1981, and are named in honor of Katherine Hamilton, a woman who was devoted to the cause of mental health and improving the care of those in need.

Clay County resident Mary Yelton was named one of the Volunteer Award winners this year.

The director of Linking Education to Adults, Adolescents and Preschoolers (LEAAP), was the first honored for her volunteerism of helping people suffering from mental illness and other issues.

According to information provided by Hamilton Center, Inc., Yelton has served on many school committees and helped organize the effort to apply for a Safe School/Health Students Federal Grant to provide mental health services to students.

She has served on many committees and boards, including the Hamilton Center Board.

Other award winners included Pamela Grimes (Volunteer Award), Denise Harden (Staff Award), Mary Beth Dougherty (Staff Award), Stephanie Laws (Community Award -- Richard G. Lugar Center), and Scott Teffeteller (Community Award -- Union Hospital).

Hamilton Center, Inc., is a regional behavioral health system serving central and west central Indiana. Offices are located in Clay, Greene, Hendricks, Marion, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Vermillion and Vigo counties.

For additional information about services, call a local office or contact Hamilton Center's Access Center at 812-231-8200 or 1-800-742-0787.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: