[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 58°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 57°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Two residents honored at conference

Thursday, January 13, 2011

INDIANAPOLIS -- Local soil and water conservation leaders who excel as top natural resource leaders were honored recently at the annual Conservation Awards Banquet.

The event is a highlight of the 68th Conference of Indiana Soil and Water Conservation Districts themed, "The Power of Conservation: Clean Water, Healthy Soils," taking place at the Indianapolis Marriott downtown.

More than 400 conservationists from across the state were on hand to see conservation's highest honors presented to individuals and organizations in several categories.

"This is conservation at its best," Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts President Paula Baldwin said, "when we pay tribute to the people and organizations who tirelessly work to protect our soil and water resources every day."

Two Clay County residents were honored at the event.

Clay County Soil and Water Conservation District Chairman Marshall Nuckolls graduated from the Indiana Conservation and Partnership's Leadership Institute.

He was one of 25 individuals who completed the Cornerstones of Leadership training.

He received a certificate and congratulatory letter from Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman.

In addition, Clay County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Matt Mace was the North Southwest Region Winner for Supervisor of the Year.

Other awards were bestowed, including the Indiana District Employees Association (IDEA) Star Award, the Indiana USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Earth Team Award, The Conservation Farmer of the Year Award, The Friend of Conservation Award, and Indiana's District Showcase Award.

The annual conference concluded with the annual legislative breakfast.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: