[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 59°F  
High: 61°F ~ Low: 48°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Elks announce district scholarship winners

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

The Elks National Foundation provides more than $3.64 million in college scholarships each year through its three scholarship programs.

All applications must go through a local Elks Lodge before reaching the Elks National Foundation office.

The Elks National Foundation will award 500 four-year scholarships to the highest-rated applicants in the 2011 competition.

The following is a list of requirements for the scholarship:

* Any high school senior who is a citizen of the United States is eligible to apply,

* Applicants need not be related to a member of the Elks,

* College students are not eligible to apply,

* Applicants must be citizens of the United States on the date their applications are signed; permanent legal resident status does not qualify, and

* Male and female students compete separately.

Applications must advance through local, district and state competitions to reach national judging. Students sponsored by local lodges submitted their applications last year and were judged locally with the winners advancing to the District Level.

The Elks West Central District No. 3000 is composed of 12 lodges located in Brazil, Crawfordsville, Frankfort, Greencastle, Kokomo, West Lafayette, Lebanon, Martinsville, Noblesville, Plainfield, Rockville and Terre Haute.

A total of 54 male and 103 female applicants applied to this scholarship program for the 2010-11 competition.

District winners and their sponsoring lodges included Zebulan Thomas, Knightsville (Brazil, No. 762), and Caroline Beyers (Brazil, No. 762).

Other district winners included Matthew Acton (Plainfield), Austin Thomas (Clinton), James Steele (Covington), Michael Biggs (Battle Ground), Grant Mansard (Terre Haute), Dakota Speck (Mooresville), Jacob Jahner (Avon), James Horn (Romney), Kyle Harrison (Crawfordsville), Albert Kaufman (West Lafayette), Tom Zhang (Fortville), Victoria Gregory (Crawfordsville), Mattie Briggs (Terre Haute), Bethany Chew (Covington), Maria Lewis (Burlington), Caroline Bennett (Avon), Margaret Page (Mooresville), Allison Curtis (Lebanon), Kathleen Grimble (Crawfordsville), and Victoria Laskey (Westfield).

The Chicago office of the Elks National Foundation will notify the 500 national finalists by e-mail by Feb. 28, 2011.

To be eligible for an award, national finalists will be required to submit a secondary application online.

The national finalists will also be required to mail their Student Aid Report to the ENF. These applications are due March 25.

The Chicago office of the Elks National Foundation will announce the 500 national winners, and notify them in writing, by April 15, 2011.

Student scholarships are for students pursuing a four-year degree, on a full-time basis (minimum of 12 semester hours), in a U.S. college or university.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: