[The Brazil Times nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 73°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

IASWCD elects new officers for 2011

Thursday, January 27, 2011

INDIANAPOLIS -- Four new conservationists will lead the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) for the coming year.

They were elected by delegates at the organization's annual business meeting recently.

Knox County resident Ray McCormick was selected the new president of the IASWCD.

McCormick has been an active supervisor with the Knox County SWCD since 2007. He also joined the IASWCD board that year as a regional director and was elected secretary in 2008.

He previously served as IASWCD Vice President for two years.

McCormick is a farmer and graduate of Colorado State University with a bachelor's degree in Agriculture Science. He is the owner and operator of a 4,000-acre grain farm in Knox County and Lawrence County, Illinois.

He also does wetland consulting, design and construction and operates a waterfowl hunting business.

McCormick is active in a number of organizations, including Quail Unlimited, Ducks Unlimited and PRIDE (Patoka Refuge Individuals Defending the Environment).

He has been very active in wetlands protection throughout the years and has been featured in many videos and on national television.

McCormick has received numerous awards for his dedication to conservation and improving wildlife habitat, including the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Conservationist of the Year in 1988; "Farming the Flyways Contest" top award winner in 1990; a national wetlands conservation award from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in 1999; 1996 Man of the Year from Progressive Farmer Magazine, IASWCD Conservationist of the Year in 2006; Indiana Prairie Farmer Magazine's 2010 Master Farmer, and 2010 No-Till Innovator Awards Program winner presented by No-Till Farmer Magazine and Syngenta Crop Protection.

Vice President Jeff Meinders of Ripley County, has been a lifelong resident of Milan.

He has been a Ripley County SWCD supervisor for 18 years. He previously served the IASWCD as treasurer and secretary before his election.

Meinders also serves on the Ripley County 4-H Fair Board. He is a supporter of 4-H and FFA.

His farming operation consists of corn, soybeans, wheat, hay and a herd of 95 registered Simmental cows. Conservation practices include no-till, minimum till, grass waterways, livestock watering systems and pasture improvement.

He also operates a construction and excavating company that constructs underground utilities and public works projects.

Jamie Scott of Kosciusko County was selected as the new treasurer for IASWCD.

He is an active member of the family grain farm that utilizes numerous conservation practices. In 2008, their farm received the Conservation Legacy Award given by the American Soybean Association at the Commodity Classic. He also works with several area farmers in coordinating the use of cover crops. Scott has served as a Kosciusko County SWCD supervisor for eight years and is currently serving as chairman.

Brian Campbell, Elkhart County SWCD Associate Supervisor, is the Association's secretary.

He has more than 25 years of experience in the financial services industry working in the home office operations of both Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance and Everence Financial (formerly named MMA).

He has held positions in financial reporting, product development, strategic planning, information technology and business analysis.

He has served on the Wood-Land-Lakes RC&D Council and Indiana League of RC&D's.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: