[The Brazil Times nameplate] Light Rain Fog/Mist ~ 51°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 44°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Clay one of 39 counties filing for assistance

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Bryan Husband
Gov. Mitch Daniels has announced he will seek federal public assistance for 39 Indiana counties that were affected by ice and snowstorms in early February.

Clay County is among the counties on the list.

Clay County Emergency Management Director Bryan Husband said the department helped collect data from various agencies countywide.

"We've got all the stuff from the agencies that were affected," Husband said.

He said he believed the county suffered an estimated $140,000-$150,000 in damages as a result of the storm that slammed into the state during the first few days of February.

He said the number came from estimated totals provided by the Clay Community School Corporation, Clay County Sheriff's Department, the City of Brazil, and Clay County.

In addition, he said REMC and the Indiana Department of Transportation were totaled in the estimate.

"(The estimate) has been logged in with the state to give us an accurate account at how much damage we had in the county," Husband said. "To meet the disaster level, you need to have damages at $85,000."

Husband added the total averages out to approximately $3.50 per citizen in Clay County.

Husband said most of the damages were to roads, the cost of sand and salt, overtime and debris removal in addition to some building damage and vehicle damage.

"It's a big effort, all of these people compiling this stuff," Husband said.

According to reports, if the request is approved, state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations could apply for federal assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing roads, buildings and utilities.

"It takes a couple of months for (the Federal Emergency Management Agency, or FEMA) to come in after the president signs the declaration," Husband said. "It's not a quick process, but we're dealing with 92 counties. It's not a save-all, but it does help."

Other Wabash Valley counties listed include Clinton, Fountain, Greene, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Vermillion and Vigo.

The remaining counties include Benton, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Cass, Decatur, Delaware, Fayette, Franklin, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Jay, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Starke, Tipton, Union, Warren and Wayne.

The storm has been blamed for at least two deaths statewide.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Good work collecting all the data but let's save an appeal to FEMA for the big stuff.

-- Posted by brazilian on Wed, Mar 16, 2011, at 9:36 AM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: