[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

CCRTA members attend 46th assembly

Thursday, June 2, 2011

The 46th annual Representative Assembly of the Indiana Retired Teachers Association took place at the Primo Banquet Hall -- South, Wednesday, May 18.

Three delegates from the Clay County Retired Teachers Association, Carolyn Tausig, Tom Jackson and Odena Harper, attended.

Clay County Retired Teachers Association, CCRTA, is a part of Area 4 in the Indiana Retired Teachers Association, IRTA.

All retired educators who receive a pension from the Indiana State Teachers Retirement Fund are eligible for regular membership in IRTA upon payment of $30 annual dues.

Others interested in becoming an associate member may do so by paying $5 annual dues to the IRTA.

Membership of the association includes a subscription to the association's newsletter.

Regular membership to CCRTA is open to the same retired teachers at a fee of $5 annually. Associate membership to CCRTA is open to any persons interested in becoming a member for a fee of $3 annually.

Robert Kraft, Evansville, Vanderburgh County, was installed as the 27th President of IRTA. He has previously served as President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer, Area 7 Director, Chair of the Membership Committee and Chair of the Legislative Committee. He is also past-president of Evansville RTA.

Elections took place for many offices that were up for two-year terms. The Community Service Committee reported that more than one million volunteer hours were turned in by retired teachers working in their respective communities to volunteer their time.

Area 4, of which CCRTA is a part, had 62,059 volunteer hours for the year 2010.

Awards were presented for many retired teachers for Outstanding Volunteer Service.

The 2010 Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield Clock Awards were presented to eight recipients for outstanding volunteer service in their areas.

IRTA awarded a scholarship to one student from each of the eight areas who had completed at least their second year of college and were enrolled as an education major.

The guidelines for awarding the scholarship state the recipient will be the son/daughter, grandson/granddaughter, legal dependent or spouse of an active, retired or deceased member of the Indiana State Teachers' Retirement Fund.

Andrew P. Thomas, Executive Director of Indiana Retired Teachers Association, has spent many hours working on behalf of retired teachers to protect the Teachers' Retirement Fund.

Donald Metzger is the Director of Area 4 and works with Clay County Retired Teachers Association to address issues and concerns to the Legislative Committee.

Member benefits of membership in IRTA are available on the IRTA website (www.indianaretiredteachers.org).

CCRTA will have a working website in the near future with the web address www.clayrta.org, or through the Indiana Retired Teachers website link.

Lance Stallcop is working with the local association to have this as a means of getting information to the membership.

Gail Roach is the President of the CCRTA for the coming two years and is willing to help retired teachers and welcome them to join the association as regular members.

Others are welcome to join as associate members.

Any member of CCRTA will be happy to answer questions about membership.

Indiana Retired Teachers Association promotes the welfare of Indiana's retired educators, encourages and perpetuates education in the state of Indiana and provides community leadership, service and guidance.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: