[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 68°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Hollingsworth claims sprint car win at Lincoln Park Speedway

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Shane Hollingsworth backs it into turn three at Lincoln Park Speedway on the way to a heat race victory.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE -- A busy week of competition kicked off on Saturday night with a four-class show at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Shane Hollingsworth earned his first feature win of the season at the Putnamville oval as the defending points champion held off Kenny Carmichael Sr.'s spirited run for second.

A severe thunderstorm that moved in to replace the earlier steamy temperatures, claimed the final three features of the evening as heavy rains hit the track minutes after the sprint cars returned to the pits.

Logan Jarrett, Carmichael and Hollingsworth were heat race winners and Kenny Carmichael Jr. dominated for the B-main victory and a spot in the main event.

When the sprinters hit the track for the A-main, it was Jarrett and Carmichael Sr. manning the front row ahead of Hollingsworth and Ethan Barrow as Joshua Clemons was unable to start in the second row.

Carmichael Sr., debuting his sprinter for the first time this season at LPS, leapt out to the lead from the green flag and held the position over the opening few laps. However, Hollingsworth was locked in on the bottom of the track and quickly reeled Carmichael in and went for the lead. Hollingsworth dove to the bottom coming out of turn three and was able to make the pass.

Once he had solidified the top spot, Hollingsworth went back to the top and found the cushion as he began to build a small lead. Lapped traffic became a quick concern as Hollingsworth looked to make a pass of Lance Hayden. However, as Hollingsworth made the pass coming out of turn four, Hayden got upside down to bring out a red flag and halt the field.

As ominous storm clouds made their approach and gusting winds played a factor in the race, Hollingsworth re-started and remained out front of Carmichael, who had his hands full with Jarrett, who was challenging alongside the Terre Haute veteran. Behind them, Kent Christian held a small lead over Brett Burdette and Barrow.

Paul Bumgardner slings some dirt into turn four during hot laps at Lincoln Park Speedway.
A caution brought Hollingsworth back to the field for a late re-start that also ended Jarrett's promising run with a flat tire.

On the re-start, Hollingsworth retained his lead and pulled away from Carmichael to claim the victory as Christian was able to secure third-place ahead of Max McGee and Nick Bilbee. Barrow took sixth, Burdette was seventh followed by Jason Holt, Ryan Pace and Brian Olson.

In other competition, C.J. Bryan and Brad Barrow earned heat race wins in the UMP Modified division. The feature will be made up along with the regular card on Saturday. In the UMP Super Stock heat races, Josh Burton and Slick Griffin were each winners and in the bomber class, 30 cars were on hand with Harry Shepherd, Lloyd Walls and Josh Foxworthy winning heats. Blake Cross scored the B-main win.

A special Thursday night show is scheduled this week as the USAC MoPar National Midgets make the second stop of Midget Week at the Putnamville oval. Riverside, Calif. native, Darren Hagen, leads the series to the five-race spectacular after winning the prestigious 66th "Night Before the 500" classic at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis. Many drivers will be doing double duty as the sprint cars and UMP Modifieds will also be on the schedule.

General admission is $20 with pit passes $30.

Lincoln Park Speedway

(Rain postpones final three features until June 11)

Sprint car feature

1. Shane Hollingsworth, 2. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 3. Kent Christian, 4. Max McGee, 5. Nick Bilbee, 6. Ethan Barrow, 7. Brett Burdette, 8. Jason Holt, 9. Ryan Pace, 10. Brian Olson, 11. Shawn Krockenberger, 12. Joe Whisler, 13. Mike Hagemier, 14. Chad Davenport, 15. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 16. Logan Jarrett, 17. Chris Babcock, 18. Lance Hayden, 19. Kevin Chambers, 20. Joshua Clemons

B-main winner: Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Heat winners: Logan Jarrett, Kenny Carmichael Sr., Shane Hollingsworth

UMP Modified feature


Heat winners: C.J. Bryan, Brad Barrow

UMP Super Stock feature


Heat winners: Josh Burton, Slick Griffin

Bomber feature


B-main winner: Blake Cross

Heat winners: Harry Shepherd, Lloyd Walls, Josh Foxworthy