[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 49°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

County eligible for aid

Thursday, August 18, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Clay and Lawrence counties are now eligible to apply for federal aid to supplement state, eligible local governments and certain private non-profit (PNP) organizations response efforts in the wake of storms and flooding that took place earlier this year.

The counties were appealed by the state and added to the declaration after a review of additional damage assessments.

Public Assistance (PA) funds for reimbursement or restoration are now available in 36 Indiana counties as part of a presidential disaster declaration for storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and floods that took place April 19 and April 22-May 2, and flooding resulting from those storms beginning April 19 and ending June 6.

The funds are for expenses or damages incurred for eligible emergency work and repair or replacement of facilities. The assistance covers items such as debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair or replacement of roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, utilities, parks and other facilities.

PA funds are made available on a cost-sharing basis with FEMA picking up 75 percent of the eligible costs. The remaining 25 percent are the responsibility of the local agency or eligible non-profit organization.

Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.

The original 32 counties eligible for public assistance are Benton, Clark, Crawford, Daviess, Dearborn, Dubois, Floyd, Franklin, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Martin, Monroe, Ohio, Orange, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Ripley, Scott, Spencer, Starke, Sullivan, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Warrick and Washington. Vermillion and Wayne counties were added July 28.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: