[The Brazil Times nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 51°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Schwartz returns to claim UMP Modified feature, Goodman takes super stocks, Litton wins first career bomber feature

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Denny Schwartz (No. 21) fights for the lead on the cushion as Rob Fuqua (No. 3f) looks to make the pass.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE, Ind. -- While Denny Schwartz doesn't routinely venture into the Hoosier state to do his UMP Modified racing, the Ashmore, Ill. pilot might just become more of a regular visitor to Lincoln Park Speedway as he has now gone two-for-two at the Putnamville oval after he scored his second victory in two weeks as he held off Paul Bumgardner and Brian Hayden during a spirited battle throughout the top-six positions.

Brazil's Sean Yakel (No. 91) battles three-wide for position during Saturday's bomber feature at Lincoln Park Speedway.
Rob Fuqua started on the pole alongside Schwartz for the main event with Bumgardner and Brad Barrow making up the front two rows.

As the green flag waved it became readily apparent that no driver was going to give an inch as the LPS racing surface provided two and three-wide racing at times. Schwarz and Fuqua were side-by-side up front during the early stages as Bumgardner and Barrow were door-to-door with each other fighting for third. The war for a top-five continued just behind as Hayden held sway by a car length over Roger Williams and Schuyler Nahre.

Up front, Schwartz had the topside hooked up and was able to open a small gap over Bumgardner, who edged ahead of Fuqua after the two scrapped for second for several laps. Several spots back, Kenny Carmichael Sr. and Richie Lex had joined the fray in seventh position.

Schwartz wasn't going to give up the lead on this night as he held down the point to the checkered flag as Bumgardner came home second ahead of Hayden. Fuqua settled into fourth ahead of Barrow. Carmichael climbed to sixth after starting 12th, Lex grabbed seventh with Nahre, Wes McClara and C.J. Bryan placing 10th.

The victory for Schwartz was his 10th top-five finish in 18 starts this season.

There were 23 UMP Super Stocks on hand for Saturday's racing at LPS and it was Cullen Goodman, who came away on top of a caution strewn A-main.

Goodman retained the lead wire-to-wire, but not without plenty of competition, first from Kenny Carmichael Jr., then a fleet of challengers that included Brad Cummings, Kenny Carmichael Sr. and Doug McCullough.

Carmichael Jr. would eventually end his night early, heading into the pits, but his spot was quickly grabbed by his father, who gave Goodman a fight for the lead through the halfway point. Cummings would advance into a side-by-side struggle with Carmichael before edging ahead and to take second at the finish line. Carmichael Sr. maintained third ahead of McCullough and Steve Peeden in the top-five.

The pits were full of bombers on Saturday night with a full field of 35 bombers on hand. On this night it was an ecstatic Jared Litton, who scored his very first feature victory.

Litton started on the pole after winning the fourth heat race and had Ben Williams alongside him with LPS points leader, David Bumgardner row two beside Lloyd Walls.

Litton had his hands full over the duration of the feature from Bumgardner and Jordan Almanza in tow, but he withstood all challenges for the victory.

Williams placed fourth ahead of Walls, Corey Gregory, JR Watkins, Christian Kline, Chad Nolte and Kenny Treash.

Next weekend will feature sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers.

Lincoln Park Speedway

UMP Modified feature (23 entries)

1. Denny Schwartz, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Brian Hayden, 4. Rob Fuqua, 5. Brad Barrow, 6. Kenny Carmichael, 7. Richie Lex, 8. Schuyler Nahre, 9. Wes McClara, 10. C.J. Bryan, 11. Bradley Sterrett, 12. Jimmy Hayden, 13. Roger Williams, 14. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 15. Dale Hayes, 16. Brian Amos, 17. Mike Bechelli, 18. Michael Beatty, 19. Brian Yeatman, 20. Roger Mills, 21. Chris Brewer, 22. Josh Edmondson, 23. Wayne Newlin

Heat winners: Brad Barrow, Paul Bumgardner, Denny Schwartz

UMP Super Stock feature (23 entries

1. Cullen Goodman, 2. Brad Cummings, 3. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 4. Doug McCullough, 5. Steve Peeden, 6. Kris Starks, 7. Ryan Huddleston, 8. Steve Hollars, 9. Slick Griffin, 10. Mike Staggs, 11. Travis Heramb, 12. Brett Smedley, 13. Rob Fuqua, 14. Bill Wells, 15. Justin Davis, 16. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 17. Zac Fuller, 18. Karl Roethemier, 19. Doug Bryant Jr., 20. Jeremy Wilson, 21. Chad Nolte, 22. Raymond Crone, 23. Josh McDaniel

Heat winners: Doug McCullough, Rob Fuqua, Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Bomber feature (36 entries)

1. Jared Litton, 2. David Bumgardner, 3. Jordan Almanza, 4. Ben Williams, 5. Lloyd Walls, 6. Corey Gregory, 7. JR Watkins, 8. Christian Kline, 9. Chad Nolte, 10. Kenny Treash, 11. Frank Cotton, 12. Michael Harris, 13. Josh Fagg, 14. Kevin Kemp, 15. Scott Tidwell, 16. Russell Bennett, 17. Sean Yakel, 18. LeRoy Sherfield, 19. Bob Farris, 20. Ian Keller

B-main winner: Frank Cotton

Heat winners: Lloyd Walls, David Bumgardner, Jordan Almanza, Jared Litton

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: