[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 50°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 43°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Dakota Jackson wins first career sprint car feature

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Dakota Jackson celebrates his first career sprint car feature victory.

Times Sports Editor

PUTNAMVILLE -- Young Dakota Jackson became the newest driver to add his name to the who's who of winning sprint car pilots to claim a feature win at Lincoln Park Speedway on Friday night as he held off a determined challenge from USAC veteran Bryan Clauson.

Dakota Jackson (No. 3) holds the lead over Bryan Clauson in he closing laps of Friday's A-Main at Lincoln Park Speedway.
Jackson led from the opening green flag, but had Clauson to deal with throughout the feature. Jackson held fast to his bottom line and made the decision stick as Clauson tried multiple lines over the track in hopes of chasing Jackson down. However, Jackson wasn't going to give up the chance to win the first A-main of his sprint car career.

Clauson had a chance late as Casey Riggs brought out a caution with five laps remaining. On the re-start, Jackson stayed on the bottom and got a good start as Clauson went back to the cushion at the top of the track. He was able to show his nose to Jackson with one lap remaining, but Jackson got a good bit coming out of turn four and scored the feature victory. Casey Shuman came home third ahead of Coleman Gulick, Bub Cummings, Seth Parker, Dave Darland, Robert Ballou, Chase Briscoe and Braylon Fitzpatrick.

In the UMP Modified feature, national points leader Mike Harrison was able to win his second feature at LPS this year, coming on the heels of his win during the UMP Summer Nationals event earlier this summer.

Harrison held off Clint DeMoss, Brad Barrow, Richie Lex and Denny Schwartz in the top-five.

A second national points leader was in the house on Friday night as Jeremy Hines' 16th feature win of the year propelled him past Troy Clark in the standings. Clark finished 17th in the feature. Hines' win came ahead of Steve Hollars, Cullen Goodman, Kenny Carmichael Sr. and Chris Hillman.

The bomber feature went to Dustin Shoulders as he placed ahead of C.J. Bryan, Josh Foxworthy, Scott Tidwell and JR Watkins.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Friday night

Sprint car feature

1. Dakota Jackson, 2. Bryan Clauson, 3. Casey Shuman, 4. Coleman Gulick, 5. Bub Cummings, 6. Seth Parker, 7. Dave Darland, 8. Robert Ballou, 9. Chase Briscoe, 10. Braylon Fitzpatrick, 11. Ethan Barrow, 12. Dickie Gaines, 13. Hud Cone, 14. Wes McIntyre, 15. Kyle Cummins, 16. CJ Leary, 17. Logan Jarrett, 18. Casey Riggs, 19. Shawn Krockenberger, 20. Josh Burton

B-main winner: Casey Riggs

UMP Modified feature

1. Mike Harrison, 2. Clint DeMoss, 3. Brad Barrow, 4. Richie Lex, 5. Denny Schwartz, 6. Schuyler Nahre, 7. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 8. Gabe Menser, 9. Kelby Simmons, 10. Roger Cary, 11. Randy Shuman, 12. Mike Bechelli, 13. Carlos Bumgardner, 14. Rob Fuqua, 15. Paul Bumgardner, 16. Dan Lewellen, 17. Donald Kiger, 18. Jeff Deckard, 19. C.J. Bryan, 20. Scott Ricketts

B-main winner: Randy Shuman

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Jeremy Hines, 2. Steve Hollars, 3. Cullen Goodman, 4. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 5. Chris Hillman, 6. Doug McCullough, 7. Brad Cummings, 8. Kris Starks, 9. Slick Griffin, 10. Dustin Bruce, 11. Paul Bumgardner, 12. Rob Paris, 13. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 14. Justin Davis, 15. Mike Staggs, 16. Jacob Wright, 17. Troy Clark, 18. Dan McCullough, 19. Don Duncan, 20. Travis Heramb

B-main winner: Troy Clark

Bomber feature

1. Dustin Shoulders, 2. C.J. Bryan, 3. Josh Foxworthy, 4. Scott Tidwell, 5. JR Watkins, 6. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 7. David Bumgardner, 8. Jordan Almanza, 9. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 10. Josh Presley, 11. Kevin Kemp, 12. Corey Gregory, 13. Frank Cotton, 14. Sean Yakel, 15. Megan Cavaness, 16. Jeff Cast, 17. Christian York, 18. David Dobbs, 19. Kenny Treash, 20. Michael Harris, 21. Ben Williams

B-main winner: David Bumgardner