[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 54°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Some races getting crowded

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Several Clay County residents continue to toss their hat in the political ring.

As the 2012 Indiana Primary draws closer, a handful of area and state races have become quite interesting.

Four local residents, all Democrats, have filed candidacy for the At-Large positions on the Clay County Council. They include Chip Hoskins, Dolores Johnson, Bill Lovett and Mike McCullough. There are three At-Large seats up for election in the primary.

Also, John Keller and Rustina Johnson -- both Republicans -- have filed candidacy for Clay County Surveyor.

Other new Clay County filings since Jan. 23 include John D. Fagg Jr. (R) for Clay County Coroner.

Those filing for Democratic Precinct Committeemen include Ellen Reeves, while those filing for Republican Precinct Committeemen include Gary Rickert, Betty Clerk, Paul Sinders, Vickie Wheeler, Mark Adamson and Mary Brown.

Sinders, Clerk and Jodi Lohrman have also filed for Republican State Convention Delegates.

At the state level, three people have filed candidacy for State Representative District 42, including Mark Spelbring (D), and Republicans Jim Meece and Bill Webster.

Democrats James Mann and Charles Toth have filed candidacy for State Representative District 46 in addition to Republican Bob Heaton.

State Representative for District 44 Jim Baird -- a Republican -- has also filed for re-election.

Those wishing to run for county office have to register at the Clay County Election Office, located on the second floor of the Clay County Courthouse. The office is open Monday-Friday, from a.m.-noon, and 1-4 p.m.

Other county offices up for election this year include Clay County Superior Court Judge (six-year term), Clay County Circuit Court Judge (six-year term), and Clay Community School Board (districts 1, 2, 3, and 4).

Candidates have until noon, Friday, Feb. 10, to file candidacy. In addition, candidates have until noon, Monday, Feb. 13, to withdraw their names.

New filings will be posted on the Clay County website each Friday afternoon until the end of the filing period. Log on to www.claycountyin.gov/ to view the filings.

Candidates on the Clay County 2012 Primary Ballot

State Representative, District 42 -- Mark C. Spelbring (D), Jim Meece (R), Bill Webster (R)

State Representative, District 44 -- James (Jim) Baird (R)

State Representative, District 46 -- James (Jim) R. Mann II (D), Charles (Chuck) Toth (D), Bob Heaton (R)

Clay County Commissioner, District 1 -- Jack Withers (D)

Clay County Commissioners, District 2 -- Charles (Charlie) Brown (D)

Clay County Council (At-Large) -- Chip Hoskins (D), Dolores Johnson (D), William (Bill) Lovett (D), Michael McCullough (D)

__Clay County Clerk of the Circuit Court -- Victoria J. (Vickie) Wheeler (R)

Clay County Recorder -- Joseph Mark Dierdorf (D)

Clay County Surveyor -- John R. Keller (R), Rustina Johnson (R)

Clay County Coroner -- John D. Fagg Jr. (R)

Republican Precinct Committeemen --Betty J. Clerk, Brazil 4; Paul R. Sinders, Harrison 2; Victoria J. (Vickie) Wheeler, Posey 1; Mark Adamson, Posey 2; Mary C. Brown, Sugar Ridge

Democratic State Convention Delegate -- Ellen L. Reeves

____Republican State Convention Delegates -- Paul Sinders, Betty J. Clerk, Jodi Pell Lohrman, Gary D. (Catfish) Rickert

__Note -- The deadline to file a declaration of candidacy is noon, Friday, Feb. 10.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: