[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 56°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 57°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Primary Ballot complete

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

The deadline to withdraw names from the 2012 Clay County Primary Ballot has come and gone and only one person has withdrawn.

According to officials with the Clay County Election Office, Gary D. (Catfish) Rickert -- a Republican -- withdrew as a candidate for Clay County Commissioner, District 1.

The race for Clay County Commissioners District 1 now includes just one Democrat, incumbent Jack Withers, and Republican Bryan K. Allender.

There are several contested races in the upcoming local primary, the most interesting at Clay County Council At-Large.

There are a total of five Democrats and three Republicans vying for the three open spots. Democrats filing for candidacy include current council persons Chip Hoskins, Dolores Johnson and Michael McCullough.

Other Democrats filing include Roger LaPlante and William (Bill) Lovett. Only three Democrats will move on from the Primary to the November Election.

Republicans filing for council seats include Patricia (Pat) Heffner, John Nicoson and Lisa D. Rickert.

Other local positions with primary competition include:

* Clay County Commissioners District 2 -- On the Democratic side, incumbent Charles (Charlie) Brown will face Michael L. (Mike) Wilkinson in the primary. Republican Tony A. Fenwick is running unopposed;

* Clay County Surveyor -- On the Republican side, Rustina Johnson will square off against incumbent John R. Keller. No Democrat filed candidacy; and

* Clay County Coroner -- On the Republican side, incumbent Joel R. Reinoehl will face John D. Fagg Jr. Democrat Amy J. (Solomon) Shelton is running unopposed.

In the race for Clay County Superior Court Judge, Democrat, and incumbent, J. Blaine Akers, is running unopposed in the Primary. Republican Robert Alex Pell also filed candidacy.

In the race for Clay County Circuit Court Judge, Democrat, and incumbent, Joseph D. Trout, is running unopposed in the Primary. Republican James Edward Deal also filed candidacy.

In the race for Clay County Recorder, Democrat, and incumbent, Joseph Mark Dierdorf, is the only resident to file candidacy. Likewise, in the race for Clay County Clerk of the Circuit Court, Republican, and incumbent, Victoria J. (Vickie) Wheeler, is the only resident to file candidacy.

According to Clay County Election Office officials, the deadline for parties to conduct a caucus, in which they can select residents to run in positions for the November election, is June 30. In addition, the deadline to receive certification on who was chosen during the caucuses is July 3.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Oh, I see your name in here now Roger! Glad to see you filed for candicacy.....maybe nobody will remember all your nasty comments you have made on here for all the world to see! Good luck!

-- Posted by Proud of My Country on Wed, Feb 22, 2012, at 12:28 PM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: