[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 47°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 43°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Clay City eighth-grader honored by Farm Bureau

Thursday, March 22, 2012

The 2012 Indiana Farm Bureau Essay Contest District 7 winners included (above, left) Courtney Brown, Center Point, daughter of Chad and Mary Brown, and (right) Sam Ellis of Bloomington. Both had the opportunity to meet Sen. Richard Lugar at the 2012 Farm Bureau Spring Conference March 9.
A Clay City Jr./Sr. High School student was recently named one of several Farm Bureau essay contest finalists.

One boy and one girl were chosen as finalists from each of Indiana Farm Bureau's 10 districts. The state winners were chosen from the pool of 20 finalists. Each of the finalists received a $50 U.S. Savings Bonds.

The youth essay contest is sponsored by Sen. Richard Lugar, Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc., and Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.

Courtney Brown, Center Point, was named the District 7 recipient, in addition to Bachelor Middle School (Bloomington) student Sam Ellis. Brown is the daughter of Chad and Mary Brown and granddaughter of David and Elaine Brown.

The winners were Andrea Ledgerwood, Angola, and Travis Koester, Wadesville.

Members of the Clay County Farm Bureau attended the 2012 Spring Conference in Indianapolis recently, where the finalists and winners were announced.

The event was sponsored by the Indiana Farm Bureau Women's Leadership Committee.

During the two-day session, several workshops took place, including farm safety, meals on slow cooker cooking, animal care, integrating live stock into the classroom, consumer trust report, benefits of cash flow and tax planning and understanding educational standards for agriculture in the classroom.

A total of 595 eighth-graders from 31 counties participated in the contest this year.

Several members of Clay County Farm Bureau attended the 2012 Spring Conference March 9, in Indianapolis. Among them included Jack Knust, Winnie Knust, Mary Schroer, Marshall Nuckolls and Ada Nuckolls, who all had the opportunity to meet Sen. Richard Lugar. Not pictured: Ron Scherb, Kathy Scherb, Mary Lou Detz and Addie Stoelting.
Both state winners received an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: