[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 54°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Knights and Eels compete in tourneys

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Clay City's Jordan Tooloose lines up a putt during his round on Saturday in the SWIAC Tourney at Phil Harris Golf Course.
Times Staff Report

TERRE HAUTE -- The Edgewood Mustangs and Linton Miners were repeat winners in conference tournament play involving Clay County golf teams.

The Mustangs shot a 322 to repeat as Western Indiana Conference champions by defeating Sullivan by 10 strokes at Idle Creek Golf Course on Saturday. Sullivan freshman Nathan Pirtle, West Vigo's Brandon Long and Jonas Carmichael of Edgewood tied for low medalist honors with a 77.

The Northview Knights were paced by Dylan Nesty's round of 84 as he shot a 38 on the front nine and a 46 on the back nine. Seth Payton shot an 85 followed by Keegan Roembke (86), Jacqueb Taylor (90) and Larry Knight (91).

At Phil Harris, the Miners captured the program's 14th consecutive Southwestern Indiana Athletic Conference championship with a score of 278 to easily outdistance second-place North Central's 350. Clay City was five shots back in third-place (355).

All five Linton golfers earned all-SWIAC honors led by a 4-under par 67 from Luke Jerrells. Clayton French shot a 71 followed by a 72 from Cole Bradbury (72) and Koye Kaiser (76).

Clay City was led by an 80 from Darius Farmer with Koby Rhodes at 88, Rhett Bigger at 92, Nathan Buell with a 101 and Jordan Tooloose with a 119.

Western Indiana Conference Tourney

At Idle Creek Golf Course

Team scores: Edgewood 322, Sullivan 332, Owen Valley 343, Northview 345, West Vigo 369, Brown County 376, South Vermillion 384

Individual leaders

1. Jackson Cowden (EW) 77, 2. Jonas Carmichael (EW) 79, 2. Nathan Pirtle (SL) 79, 2. Brandon Long (WV) 79, 5. Jared Crawford (EW) 81, 5. Cole Parker (OV) 81, 5. Derek Andre (SL) 81, 8. Dylan Nesty (Nv) 84, 8. Reed Jackson (SL) 84, 10. Seth Payton (Nv) 85, 10. Derek Hayes (EW) 85

Northview (345): Larry Knight 91, Jacqueb Taylor 90, Keegan Roembke 86, Dylan Nesty 84, Seth Payton 85

Southwestern Indiana Athletic Conference Tourney

Team scores: Linton 278, North Central 350, Clay City 355, Bloomfield 363, White River Valley 408, Eastern Greene (423), Union 430, North Daviess 432.