[The Brazil Times nameplate] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 47°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

CCRTA represented well at meeting

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Clay County Retired Teachers Association was represented by delegates Carolyn Tausig and Odena Harper at the 47th Annual Representative Assembly of Indiana Retired Teachers Association on May 16, 2012, in Indianapolis. Clay County is a part of Area 4 with Don Metzger as the director. Area 4 is made up of Benton, Warren, Vermillion, Tippecanoe, Carroll, Montgomery, Putnam, Parke and Clay counties.

There were two important changes to the Indiana Retired Teachers bylaws.

One will change the Representative Assembly from May to June each year.

The second major bylaw change establishes a Foundation Board.

This plan will allow the Foundation to establish a permanent endowment, expand grant writing opportunities, establish a vehicle for helping individual retired educators and prevent mingling of Association and Foundation monies.

Indiana Retired Teachers Association Executive Director, Andy Thomas, addressed the reasons for membership in the organization.

It is the only association that lobbies the legislature exclusively for retired teachers.

Through the leadership of the association, Indiana retired teachers have received a COLA and/or 13th check every year for over 30 years.

Members receive the bulletin board newsletter, which helps keep the members informed.

As a teacher, many valuable benefits are received as listed on the web page at www.retiredteachers.org.

Many awards and honors were given to the local Retired Teachers Associations, as well as to individual award members. Numbers of volunteer hours turned in by the various counties were announced/ Clay County Retired Teachers turned in 11,356 hours of volunteering in the community.

Many more hours were spent by retired teachers who did not get them turned in. Clay County Retired Teachers Association won an honor for an outstanding website.

It can be accessed at www.clayrta.org to obtain information about the Clay County Retired Teachers.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: