[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 59°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 53°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Boespflug claims sprint car victory at LPS

Friday, June 29, 2012

Chad Boespflug (No. 98) holds down the lead in the sprint car feature as Shane Cottle (No. 2e) backs it in on the top side in pursuit of the leader. [Order this photo]
PUTNAMVILLE -- Temperatures in the triple-digits greeted drivers and fans at Lincoln Park Speedway on Thursday evening, but even the steamy conditions couldn't slow down Chad Boespflug and Kenny Carmichael Sr., who each picked up feature victories.

Boespflug was able to get past Shane Cottle in lapped traffic late in the sprint car A-main and held off Casey Shuman's late challenges over the last circuits to score his second feature victory at LPS this season.

Chad Boespflug celebrates his second feature win at Lincoln Park Speedway this season.
Seth Parker was quick qualifier on the night and claimed the first heat race ahead of California's Richard Vander Weerd and Garrett Abrams. Cottle edged out Boespflug in the second heat race as Kent Christian claimed the third spot overall.

Starting the feature, it was Boespflug on the pole alongside Jace Vander Weerd with Cottle and Shuman making up row two.

Cottle and Boespflug established the early pace in front of Shuman and Parker before a caution flew for a spin by Chris Phillips.

On the re-start, Boespflug continued to lead the field with Cottle and Shuman close behind. Cottle tried the bottom line to make a pass that wouldn't stick the first time as a second caution re-set the field.

The second time was the charm for Cottle as he dove to the bottom in turn three on the re-start and was able to take over the lead. Shuman and Parker were battling it out for the third position as Richard Vander Weerd held fifth ahead of Dave Darland and Jace Vander Weerd.

Lapped traffic became a factor over the last 10 laps as Cottle edged through the first back markers, but would get caught up in the second group. He would slip up the track as Boespflug seized the chance and regained the lead as Cottle slipped to third behind Shuman.

Kenny Carmichael Sr. celebrates his UMP Super Stock victory at Lincoln Park Speedway on Thursday.
Over the final few laps, Boespflug was able to handle Shuman's last effort at taking the lead. Cottle finished third ahead of Richard Vander Weerd, Darland, Parker, Jace Vander Weerd, Christian, Bradley Sterrett and Abrams.

In the UMP Super Stock A-main, Carmichael Sr. was able to take advantage of a mistake by Shoulders, who slipped over the cushion while leading, and didn't look back in picking up the victory.

Shoulders edged Carmichael Sr. in the first heat race with Josh McDaniel claiming second ahead of Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Shoulders started alongside McDaniel with Carmichael Sr. and Kenny Carmichael Jr. in row two.

Shoulders had the lead over both Carmichael's over the first half of the race as Mike Staggs held fourth. Carmichael Sr. would edge into second position with Carmichael Jr. charged with holding off Troy Clark and Staggs with Kris Starks in the sixth spot.

With Carmichael Sr. right on his bumper, Shoulders slipped high into turn four and over the cushion, opening the door for Carmichael to take a lead that he wouldn't relinquish.

Shoulders came home second ahead of Clark, Carmichael Jr. and Jamie Adams in the top-five.

Start times have been moved up an hour for today's show with sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers on the card along with fireworks.

Lincoln Park Speedway Thursday Night Sprints

Sprint car feature

1. Chad Boespflug, 2. Casey Shuman, 3. Shane Cottle, 4. Richard Vander Weerd, 5. Dave Darland, 6. Seth Parker, 7. Jace Vander Weerd, 8. Kent Christian, 9. Bradley Sterrett, 10. Garrett Abrams, 11. Daren Krockenberger, 12. Matt Thompson, 13. David Hair, 14. Chris Phillips, 15. Robert Ballou, 16. Bryan Clauson

Heat winners: Parker, Cottle

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. Dustin Shoulders, 3. Troy Clark, 4. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 5. Jamie Adams, 6. Butch Fodrie, 7. Kris Starks, 8. Josh McDaniel, 9. Mike Staggs, 10. Jake Byers

Kenny Carmichael Sr. rockets through turn three on his way to claiming the UMP Super Stock feature on Thursday night. [Order this photo]
Heat winners: Shoulders, McDaniel

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: