[The Brazil Times nameplate] Fair ~ 53°F  
High: 58°F ~ Low: 43°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Board seats up for grabs

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Tammy Beasley [Order this photo]
Even though the 2012 General Election is four months away, a handful of people have expressed interest in running for the positions on the Clay Community Schools Board.

Recently, Clay County Election Office Deputy Clerk Jason Jacobs told The Brazil Times all four current board members up for re-election have expressed interest in running again.

The four district positions will be up for grabs in the November Election.

Dr. Forrest Buell [Order this photo]
Tina Heffner currently occupies the seat for District 1 while Jennifer Kaelber is the representative for District 2.

Tammy Beasley represents District 3 and Forrest Buell is the District 4 board member.

At-large seats, currently occupied by Rob Miller, Ron Scherb and Amy Burke Adams, are not up for grabs this year.

Tina Heffner [Order this photo]
Jacobs told The Times a handful of others have already shown interest in running for the offices.

"We've had a few others," Jacobs said. "I think we've had four or five people total."

Candidates serve four-year terms.

Jennifer Kaelber [Order this photo]
Beginning July 25, residents were able to throw their hats in the ring for the offices. All residents have until noon, Aug. 24, to file candidacy.

Those interested in running for the position must have at least 10 signatures signed on a petition sheet, which may be accessed at the Clay County Clerk's Office in the Clay County Courthouse.

Residents may access signatures from now until the Aug. 24, deadline.

CCS Precincts

The following includes precincts among the four districts for the Clay Community Schools Board:

* District 1 -- Seven Precincts (Brazil 4, Cass, Jackson 1, Jackson 2, Jackson 3, Sugar Ridge and Washington),

* District 2 -- Four Precincts (Brazil 1, Brazil 2, Brazil 3 and Brazil 6),

* District 3 -- Five Clay Precincts and one Parke County Precinct (Brazil 5, Dick Johnson, Van Buren 1, Van Buren 2, Van Buren 3 and Jackson in Parke County), and

* District 4 -- Six Precincts (Harrison 1, Harrison 2, Perry, Posey 1, Posey 2, Posey 3).

In addition, the following includes precincts among the three districts for the Metropolitan School District of Shakamak:

* District 1 -- Lewis Township, Clay County,

* District 2 -- City of Jasonville, Greene County, and

* District 3 -- Wright Township, Greene County.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Forrest Buell did a fantastic job of holding up construction of Northview when he was on the schoolboard 30+ years ago, arguing against consolidation. Notably, he argued for lower property taxes on certain land uses, which would have benefited himself. He cost this county a fortune in legal fees with his frivolous lawsuits and increased construction costs on the new school, as well as unforeseen costs trying to keep the decaying schools we had operational.

Whatever his intent or platform is this time, I feel certain it's no more to benefit the school system, the children, or the average citizen now than it was almost four decades ago.

-- Posted by CaptBrent on Mon, Jul 30, 2012, at 5:22 PM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: