[The Brazil Times nameplate] A Few Clouds ~ 61°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Election 2014: Primary Election races take shape after filing deadline

Saturday, February 8, 2014

UPDATE FOR PRINT SUBSCRIBERS: County Council District 1 covers Brazil Township precincts 1 through 4. The Brazil Times used outdated and incorrect precinct information in Monday's print edition that was found Sunday on the county's website. Also, the sidebar accompanying that story is a list of contested races in the upcoming Primary Election, as per the Clay County Election Office. A complete list of all of those who've filed is available on this site.

The 2014 Primary Election ballot has but almost been confirmed, with the official candidate filing deadline ending on Friday.

There's still a few days for candidates to withdrawal, and challenges to those running could still come, but, regardless whether Clay County residents pull the Democrat or Republican ballot in May, voters will have plenty to choose from.

On the Democrat side, William Bryk and Tom Spangler are both seeking the District 8 congressional nod currently held by Republican Larry Bucshon. Bucshon also faces a challenge in his primary from Andrew T. McNeil.

The most highly contested race in Clay County is for the sheriff seat. With incumbent Mike Heaton reaching his term limit, the door is wide open.

On the Democratic side, Frank Beasley, Robert Gambill and Douglas Smiley are all vying for votes, while Republicans Josh Clarke, Paul Harden and Brian S. Pierce are doing the same.

Three people are seeking the Democratic nomination for Clay County Council District 1. They are incumbent Rita Rothrock and challengers Linda Tipton and Terry Wilson. District 1 covers Brazil Township precincts 1-4.

The County Council District 2 race will include challenges on both sides of the political aisle.

On the Republican side, it's Jason D. Britton and Timothy Rayle, while Democrats include Rick Hester and Steven Withers. Withers is the incumbent for the district that represents Brazil Township precinct 4 and Dick Johnson and Van Buren townships.

For a full list of contested Primary Election races, see the sidebar accompanying this story. To see a list of everyone who has filed, contested or uncontested, visit www.thebraziltimes.com.

The deadline to withdrawal candidacy is noon today, while the challenge deadline is noon Friday.

Here's a look at the 2014 Primary Election ballot


United States Representative, District 8

William Bryk

Tom Spangler

County Sheriff

Frank E. Beasley

Robert (Rob) Gambill

Douglas M. (Doug) Smiley

County Council, District 1

Rita E. Rothrock

Linda (Sue) Tipton

Terry D. Wilson

County Council, District 2

Rick Hester

Steven J. Withers

Brazil Township Trustee

A. Ann Bradshaw

Vickie Lawhorn

Brazil 3 Precinct Committeeman

A. Ann Bradshaw

Vickie Lawhorn


United States Representative, District 8

Larry D. Bucshon

Andrew T. McNeil

State Senator, District 38

John D. Carson

Jon Ford

State Senator, District 39

Eric Bassler

John M. Waterman

Prosecuting Attorney

Robert Alex Pell

B. Lee Reberger Jr.

County Auditor

Jennifer M. Flater

Erica Stallcop

County Sheriff

Josh Clarke

Paul Harden

Brian S. Pierce

County Council, District 2

Jason D. Britton

Timothy Rayle

Perry Township Trustee

Kevin Barrett

Janice L. Myers

State Convention Delegates -- (Vote no more than 9)

Jennifer Buell

E.E. (Buz) Burgess

Jim Burk

Karen J. Burk

Katelyn C. Burk

Linda K. Castor

Terry L. Castor

Brock Dalton

Linda Fowler

Samuel N. (Sam) Glover

Charles (Steve) Grinley

Kathy Heffner-Grinley

Andrew P. Thomas

Heather L. Wallace

(Information provided by the Clay County Election Office.)

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on thebraziltimes.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

So happy to see Robert Pell on the list. Best of luck Bob!!!

-- Posted by sweetest thing on Sat, Feb 8, 2014, at 6:03 PM

Wow...is half the Burk clan planning to take a mini-vaca on our dollar if they win their delegate seat? Just sayin'......

-- Posted by Proud of My Country on Wed, Feb 12, 2014, at 2:29 PM

Proud, just so you know, all delegates to the state GOP convention pay an $80 fee out of their own pockets to attend the convention as a delegate. The delegate is also responsible for any expenses associated with attending the convention (which is in Ft. Wayne this year) that would include transportation, meals, hotel expense, etc

-- Posted by SNG621 on Thu, Feb 13, 2014, at 5:09 PM

Thank you. That's good information and I appreciate that you shared that with me. Have a great day.

-- Posted by Proud of My Country on Tue, Feb 18, 2014, at 12:22 PM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: