Northview recognizes fall sports award winners

Friday, November 10, 2017
Northview junior quarterback Trey Shaw was named Most Outstanding Back for the Knights' football team as well as All-WIC.


Times Sports Editor

The fall sports season officially concluded for the Northview Knights with the annual awards banquet to honor athletes for 2017.

The Knights had a very successful season overall paced by sectional championships by both the girl’s soccer team and the volleyball team. The volleyball team also captured the Western Indiana Conference title during a 31-5 campaign. The boy’s cross country team was a regional and semi-state qualifier as a group. Eden Siples qualified for the semi-state for the girl’s team with Lindy Berry and Tia Jones qualifying for the regional meet. The volleyball team reached the Elite Eight this season.

There were 18 Northview athletes that were named all-Western Indiana Conference in 2017. Braden Norris and Thomas Chapman (boy’s cross country), Zack Calandrilla, Trevor Cook, Michael Heading, Trey Shaw and Braddok Whistler (football), Sarah Bryan, Karlie Kellett and Kassidy Kellett (girl’s soccer), Sam Gentry, Will Rindone and Steven Thomas (boy’s soccer), Clayton Buck (boy’s tennis) and Alli Cook, Megan Heck, Jenny Lundy and Olivia Lundy in volleyball.

2017 Northview Fall Awards

Boys tennis

Kassidy Kellett (No. 17) was named Most Valuable Player for the girl's soccer team.

Captain Award: Clayton Buck, Jalen Satterfield, Chase McCrocklin

Most Improved: Chase Nuckols

Best Record: Owen Tipton

Rookie of the Year: Owen Tipton

Hustle Award: Tyler Hess

Mental Attitude: Brevin Cooper and JD Buell

Rock Solid Award: Benjamin Goshen and Caleb Swearingen

Four-year winner: Clayton Buck and Jalen Satterfield

Boy’s Cross country

Most Valuable Runner: Braden Norris

Most Improved: Tucker Thiel

Northview's Sam Gentry (No. 19) was named Most Valuable Offensive Player for the boy's soccer team.

Most Valuable Newcomer: Thomas Chapman

Chad Smith Award: Braeden Knerr

Girl’s cross country

Most Valuable Runner: Eden Siples

Most Valuable Newcomer: Ashley Roberts

110-Percent Award: Lindy Berry

Chad Smith Mental Attitude Award: Lindy Berry

Most Improved: Brianna Langdon

Four-year winner: Cheyenne Mullenix and Cathy Smith


Coaches Award: Evan Dutrow

Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Braddok Whistler

Outstanding Offensive Back: Trey Shaw

Outstanding Wide Receiver: Trevor Cook

Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Zack Calandrilla

Outstanding Linebacker: Andrew Osborn

Outstanding Defensive Back: Jarett Combs

Outstanding Specialist: Dylan Boor

Spartan Award: MJ Shelton

Captain Awards: Trey Shaw, Michael Heading, Braddok Whistler, Evan Dutrow, MJ Shelton

Four-year Awards: Jarett Combs, Michael Heading, Evan Dutrow, Braddok Whistler

Boy’s soccer

Most Versatile Player: Steven Thomas

Leadership Award: Will Rindone

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Sam Gentry

Most Valuable Defensive Player: Dylan Boor

Mental Attitude Award: Simon Lackey

Sportsmanship Award: Austin Beasley

Rookie of the Year: Daniel Gugino

Captain Awards: Austin Beasley, Sam Gentry and Logan Wright

Girl’s soccer

Most Valuable Player: Kassidy Kellett

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Sarah Bryan

Most Valuable Defensive Player: Karlie Kellett

Mental Attitude Award: Rachel Brindley

Most Improved Player: Amaya Jones and Makenna McNabb

Captain Awards: Karlie Kellett, Cheyenne Monfort, Rachel Brindley, Abbey Torbert, Amaya Jones, Sarah Bryan, Sydney Brock

Comeback Player of the Year: Cheyenne Monfort

Girl’s golf

Mental Attitude Award: Chloey Johnson

Captain Award: Sophia Buell

Best 9-hole average: Abby Drake

Best 18-hole Average: Sophia Buell

Best Putting Average: Heidi Ehrlich


Captain Awards: Sera Little-Booe and Olivia Lundy

Hustle Award: Alli Cook

Rookie of the Year: Kambree Lucas

Mental Attitude Award: Madeline Sinders

Most Improved: Kambree Lucas

Most Kills: Jenny Lundy

Most Aces: Alli Cook

Most Assists: Jenny Lundy

Most Blocks: Olivia Lundy

Most Digs: Alli Cook and Megan Heck

Most Valuable Player: Jenny Lundy

Four-year winner: Olivia Lundy, Sera Little-Booe and Maggie Mershon

Fall Grade Point Average Award: Boy’s Tennis with a 3.68